Come experience our eco village lifestyle near Le Fossat, the Ariege, France

Country

France

Favourited 138 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello
    We are an eco village in Ariege living in community... 8 children and 15 adults (all ages and from different walks of life), 2 dogs, 3 horses, and chickens. Our main interest is freedom and democratic schooling based on sudbury schools, but also sustainability. How can we live in community while still being free ? This is our main challenge that unites us. Authentic and open communications is really what keeps us alive and thriving. We live on 50 hectares of land, where we try to grow our own food. We have planted around 200 trees since we've started the adventure 3 years ago. We also recently had a pond dug to attract wildlife and to go for dips in summer. We have a wood shed too with lots and lots of wood and tools for building and being creative! The view from the land is amazing, with the Pyrennees in the background. There is nice spot by the river on our land and nearby. We have lots of nice walks around one hour away, and a really cool local crafts and artisan market every Sunday.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would experience community life in an eco village, they would be able to witness our meetings (twice a week) to get a better understanding on how we are structured and how we live together.

  • Help

    Help

    Where do we need help?
    Garden....this is where we need the most help!
    Weeding, fencing, laying straw and compost, irrigation, season dependent (spring- sowing seeds and planting) summer and autumn - harvesting and making preserves - jams, tomato sauces...). If you feel creative, making wooden signs for the garden, we also have a project of making an enchanted circuit in the forest (creative people welcome!), creating a herb garden or mandala. Anyone with permaculture experience would be a great plus, but not essential. We would love to make our outdoor spaces beautiful too. We were thinking of making sculptures (wood, clay...), so if anyone feels drawn to this...!

    Animals
    As we just welcomed 3 horses we are in need at the moment of strong volunteers to help set up some fences with wood stakes, and build a wooden round pen (hence people who can handle carrying heavy things and a drill would be preferable for this project). Other errunds with horses: groom them, desensitize them, walk them around, pick up poo, feed them and make sure they have water, build a shed for the gear. One is an old but really chilled stallion (23 yrs old) that can be ridden, the other two young ones (5 and 6) have barely been ridden, so any prep for getting them ready for the saddle would be great (people with natural horsemanship would be a great plus). Ground work is really what we want to start with with strong foundations....so if you're really keen to just ride, that might not be the best place.

    Chickens: feeding every morning, cleaning up their little house, picking up the eggs

    Maintenance
    general maintenance of the place, indoors and outdoors, and pool cleaning (yes you will be welcome to use it, although not heated so really only useable in summer), there is a lot of momentum to transform the place inside too, making the decoration nicer in main areas, but also in the bathroom. So any people with interior design skills would be welcome!

    With kids! Anybody who loves kids would be a great addition. Anyone keen to share games, or other creative projects with them?

    We are also keen to open up our community to creative souls (especially if you have experienced in painting murals or with creative ideas on how to beautify spaces indoors and outdoors!)

    But most importantly the foundation is really someone who shares the same values around ideally democracy, community and ecology. We have welcomed many French volunteers but keen to open up our community life to international souls for a richer experience and more cultural diversity. Already in our collective most of us have different origins which nourishes us a lot but bringing people with different language is something else. Most of us speak either English and or Spanish. Looking forward to hearing from you!

    Accommodation will be in a shared rooms in the batisse (main house) in winter or outside in tent (high season). All food is organic (either from the garden or from the market). When we receive visitors in the busy season, there is a roster of volunteers (by this I also mean villagers!) to cook/clean/prepare beds and outside this roster, we invite volunteers to be self responsible. We would love people who can take initiative. Everything works organically here, sometimes we eat together, sometimes not, sometimes one cooks for some, sometimes one cooks for everyone, or just for himself. We invite the volunteers to be open to such flexibility (ie to take also initiative to cook for himself sometimes).

    So check out to see if there is something you would be interested in, and send me a message!

    Ps we welcome younger volunteers but only those responsible ones that can clean after themselves :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the main house (in low season), in tent in high season

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    4-5 hours a day for 5 days, one day off (flexible days), you arrange your tasks as you wish, if you want to be creative one day, you can just spend time doing that, and pick another day for gardening.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 359283936577