Come and be part of our life in Normandie, France



Favourited 76 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  • Description


    Hi there, we are a couple in our early sixties but still lively and "with it". We both suffer from medical problems so need help in our large garden and some work on our farmhouse. We are both friendly and easy going and look upon our workawayers as family. We both love cooking and entertaining. We have had helpers from all over the world in the last 3/4 years and enjoyed every minute of it. Still keep in contact with some of them. We live in the Calvados area, 40 minutes from the ferry port and 20 min. From Caen and all the places to visit there. We also live close to all the landing beaches and the closest biggish town is Falaise with lots to see and visit.
    We are looking for help with the garden and some work in the house it self.
    We love meeting new people and get to know them and promise not to work anyone too hard. We also take people around to places to visit on days off. Or drop them into the village by us. There is a bus stop in the village that will take you into Caen centre and train station.
    Kristin is Norwegian and speak the language and Karl is Welsh. We both speak English and some French. Our place is from the 16th./17th. century. We have found coins in the walls to prove it. We think it is a very magical place and keeps you on the go.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Help


    We need help with some building work. Finish off a bathroom, decorate a bedroom and do some wall work in a future dining room. It is always work to be done in the garden, mostly weeding and tidying in flower beds and potting up plants that is growing in the poly tunnel.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian and some French

  • Accommodation


    We have a bedroom that can sleep two (doublebed) or arranged as two separate beds. Family bathroom and use of the house as a member of the family. Mealtimes is shared with the family. And soon to be an extra shower room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Not far from us we have kayaking , mountain climbing and many walking routes. There is the landing beaches, the Memorial in Caen and the chateau where William the Conquerer was born. So things to do in free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    We stick to the five hours, unless people want to do more, but no pressure.

Host ref number: 3592378884c1