1 / 3

Come and help me around my house in Southern Germany

  • Favourited 7 times
  • Last activity: 15 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Update: September 2023 - We are looking for someone with experience in painting. Our kitchen and dining room needs some TLC.
    ———

    Dear Workawayers,

    My name is Katy, I’m a 61 year old German-American, also an 8-time Workaway volunteer.

    My family and I are looking for help in and around my house in a small German village directly on the Swiss border.
    I have some areas that could use some organizing, cleaning, and maybe painting, too, and my four chickens like company, while our little garden always needs some TLC, primarily in the form of weeding. The chickens’ run needs to be leveled as they have uprooted everything within their reach. If any experience, I’d like to add a few floor tiles in front of the coop. Also, the composting ( with lots of chicken droppings) needs to be turned.

    We can offer you your own little room (the rest of the apartment is shared with me) and food for about 4 to 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. Of course, you can take any two days off as agreed. I’m really flexible.

    We can cook together or I can cook for us both. Whatever you feel like. I mainly eat low-carb and consider myself a flexitarian, but you can eat whatever you want. We’ll figure it out.

    It would be great if you had a valid driver’s license.

    I would love to hear back from you!
    Katy

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I, myself, have been on several Workaways and loved the amazing experiences and encounters. Now I want to pay some of this back and share with like-minded individuals.

    There will be small-town living in beautiful surroundings near Zurich, Schaffhausen, the Rhinefalls, Germany’s largest lake, the Lake of Constance, and even the Black Forest. There is so much to explore here.
    We are close to the airport in Zurich and the local train station is less than 5 minutes walk away.
    The small medieval town Schaffhausen is 10 minutes away, Zurich approx. 45 minutes by
    train.
    I speak and can help you with English, German, and Swiss-German. I love meeting new people but respect their privacy.

    Weather permitting, we may be able to take you on a private boat on the Rhine and of course show you our beautiful area. Sometimes we have a game night, sometimes Happy Hour. You can join us for all activities if you feel like it. Or stay at home if you want some privacy.

  • Help

    Help

    Helping out around the house and garden and maybe some other small maintenance projects as the need arises. All to be discussed and agreed upon together. As far as I see it, there are no special skills needed.
    Nothing difficult and certainly nothing dangerous!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I’m fluent in English, German ans Swiss-German. I’d love to learn a little more Swedish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small own room with a twin-sized bed. Rest shared with me in the lower apartment. My daughter and family live upstairs. They have two cats, but they do not come down, in case you are allergic to cats. The four chickens are outside.

    I have decent internet.
    I have bedding and towels.
    All meals paid.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 354215794663

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Help me around the house and share your Spanish skills while discovering the area in Osterholz-Scharmbeck, Germany
Join our family and help with gardening and DIY projects in Lübeck, Germany