Help with the house and garden and enjoy a magical small valley in the northern Alps of Valchiusella, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    --- This situation is only for women. In the description I explain why. Thank you for your comprehension. ---

    --- Currently all the weeks we can accommodate are occupied by bookings of workawayers.. If a cancellation occurs, we will update the profile ---

    I'm Barbara and I'm an enthusiast of life. I love nature, animals and people. I think everything is a reflection of God, and I see the Light in everything and everywere: even when something "not so nice" happens... I am sure it will appear later on the real message, and it is always a good message!
    My family is : my husband Luigi and my children Lorenzo, 19 years old, and Lucia, 14 years old. Also, our dog Emma and our cats Ronnie, Gioia and Selva.
    We live in Valchiusella, a small Valley full of magical and mistery ... It is a very green and wild valley: there are many paths, it's easy to see wild animals, and in summer it's great to take a refreshing bath in the Chiusella River.
    Our place is in a small mountain village at 800 metres, with 300 inhabitants. We have a garden of 1000 mq, with some apple, cherry and almond trees, and a vegetable garden. We have some lavender plants and produce lavender oil in August.
    In the Valley you can also visit the Temple of Humankind, a magnificent temple carved inside the mountain from a spiritual eco-community living here, Damanhur.
    The nearest “big city” is Ivrea at 30 minutes by car – 1 hour by bus.
    Torino and Aosta are at 1 hour by car – 2 hours by public transport.
    --- For work reasons my husband and I are sometimes away from home a few days a week. Our daughter is alone at home on those days. That's why we feel more confident in only giving women the opportunity to be here. Thank you for understanding. ---

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our family you can learn a lot about life in a small mountain village in Italy. My husband is a very good cook and you can learn a lot of Italian dishes (even if they are only vegetarian!). My daughter studies French and English and you can exchange practice of these languages and Italian.
    We can talk about nature (I have a degree in natural sciences), and I am studing esoteric sciences so we can share our thoughts about spirituality. I do love cinema, I have lots of film and I love to watch them also in English language so we can also share time watching film.
    In your spare time you can explore the valley: there are several walks, the Chiusella river is really nice and you can have bath in several beautiful places, there are magnificent falls, hiking spots. You can do paragliding. Or visit the smal villages of the valley.
    Torino and Aosta are beautiful cities, 1 hour by car / 2 hours by public transport.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a garden. Ii is not so big (1000 sq meters), but anyway it takes time to keep it nice !
    Also, as I have many interests and I am involved in several projects in the community, I don't have always enough time to keep the house as clean as I would like ...
    So basically if you come, you will help in keeping the house clean, take care of the vegetable garden and the flowers in the garden, cutting grass with the lawnmower. We don't ask you to be a specialist in these skill, of course we will tell you what to do. We also like to have "strange" and "artistic" artefacts in the garden so if you like you can do something!
    In mid august-beginning of september you will also help me doing the lavender oil (it is a very small production).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    My daughter Lucia, 14 years old, studies English and French and it would be useful for her to practice these languages, at the moment she does not study Spanish (at her school she will start studying it in two years), but a guest who speaks this language is also very welcome!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom and your own bathroom.
    For your meals you can use our kitchen, you are welcome to eat with us but if you want to eat on your own from time to time, of course you can. We are vegetarian and ask not to bring meat/fish in the house.
    We like to eat on the porch in summer, the view from our house is very nice.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are vegetarians we would prefer not to have meat in the fridge so we ask you not to bring meat/fish into the house.
    We try to buy local products as much as possible, so you can eat here cheeses made by our neighbours, eggs from free hens and other products from the valley.
    We do not smoke and would prefer to have guests who do not smoke, but we do not deny a priori so if you smoke, come along but remember to smoke outside the house and do not throw cigarettes on the lawn, thank you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I've been working online for 18 years, having created and managed one of the first online shops in italy. In 2018 I closed the shop, but I've continued to use the web a lot for my new work (tourism). I'd like to exchange ideas and methods about online work. We have internet access.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We had friends who parked their camper van here, there is a narrow spot to get to but it was no problem.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 281798728145