Stay in my cottage and help with the garden and maintenance in Lyttelton, Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kia ora. I am an older woman who has lived in Lyttelton for 35 years. I live in a cozy quaint cottage with character surrounded by native trees on the hillside overlooking Lyttelton Harbour. I have done a lot of the renovation work on my cottage including an Octagon room I built myself that has wonderful views over the harbour and up to the rim of the extinct volcano.
    There is a comfortable sleepout with a Queen size bed for Workaway people to stay in. My garden is full of beautiful native trees and native birds that will delight you with their birdsong.
    I am in the process of getting my house ready to put on the market and I need help with preparing and painting, gardening and general house maintenance.
    I am easy-going and enjoy music, movies and the outdoors. My Border Collie dog, Sophie, is an integral part of the household and will love you if you throw a ball for her or take her walking.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a real dinkum Kiwi having lived in New Zealand all my life. I am a tramper and kayaker and used to be a mountain climber so I can give you lots of information about beautiful places to explore in the South Island. I speak a little Te Reo (Maori language), a little French, a little Spanish. I work as a psychodramatist and Clown Doctor. I also play guitar and ukulele and sing and can introduce you to a casual choir in Christchurch.
    I have travelled overseas a little (South America, North America, Europe, Pacific Islands) and enjoy meeting people from other cultures and countries.
    I have lived here in the unique funky port town of Lyttelton for 35 years and love the sense of community. Banks Peninsula is imbued with history, both Maori and European. The original cottage you will stay in was built early in NZ's colonial past. I share my historic cottage with Sophie my Border Collie dog.
    I am a patient communicator and am happy to help you improve your English if you wish.

  • Help

    Help

    Preparation of weatherboards ready for painting: waterblasting, sanding and scraping (no experience required just a willingness to work!), painting weatherboards and window surrounds. Preparing and painting/ varnishing inside window surrounds. Gardening: weeding and generally cleaning up the garden, some digging. Cleaning out the garage. Cleaning windows.
    Taking my beautiful Border Collie dog for a walk in the hills.
    I would ask my volunteers to work 4 - 5 hours/day and the rest of the day is yours to sightsee, walk on the hills or do whatever you please. Sometimes you may work a full day and then have a whole day off if you wish.
    Staying here and working would suit a hard working practical independent person or couple who are self-motivated and have a can-do attitude.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little Spanish, a little French, a little Te Reo

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a comfortable sleepout with a Queen size bed. It has a little kitchen attached with electric jug, toaster, fridge and bench-top oven. There is a large deck attached to the sleepout. The bathroom is in the house and is shared with me.
    I am happy to cook for us all and will cook whatever you might wish to eat. I occasionally eat meat but am mostly vegetarian and like to eat a good quantity of fresh fruit and vegetables, some of which grow in my garden. I encourage you to cook for us all if you wish. We will share food preparation and clean up as part of living together.
    I am a non-smoker and do not allow smoking or illegal drugs inside the house or sleepout. I expect you to respect my personal space. You will have access to WI-Fi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Lyttelton has a great Farmer's market and there are many walks in the hills you can access from my house. You might enjoy taking my border collie dog, Sophie for walks. Local bays for swimming are within walking distance. My house is a good base to explore Banks Peninsula and other Canterbury attractions from.
    It is a 10 minute walk down to the township of Lyttelton where you will find iconic cafes and taverns to check out. (15 minutes walk back up the steep hill when returning home).
    It is 20 minutes by car through the tunnel in to central Christchurch. There is a regular bus service into Christchurch.which takes about 20 - 30 minutes.
    We are 15 minutes drive from The Tannery ( a great place for live music, movies, pizza and craft beer, and 15 minutes drive over the hill to Sumner and the beach.
    Akaroa is a 2 hour drive away, Hanmer also 2 hours. Arthurs Pass and the mountains is 3 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 354169677851