Enjoy the outdoors, gorgeous mountains, lakes, rivers and animals (domestic and wild) on a horse ranch in Montana, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 1145 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    56  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1099

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband Jim (64) and me (Donna/60) are happy, upbeat folks with good positive energy. Jim is a world class musician who toured with such legends as Isaac Hays and Edgar Winter, and has also produced, composed and arranged music alongside other well known greats. Donna is a self-employed mortgage broker who originates loans in California and Montana. It is important to note that Jim has been recovering from a brain injury since May 2019 and has vertigo 24/7 and balance issues along with that. Prior to his injury Jim handled all of the day to day chores and workaway help was a luxury, now it is necessary and we appreciate our volunteers tremendously. Also, Jim has a tough time with lots of people in the same room talking so he does not spend as much time in the kitchen or at the dinner table as he used to

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our ranch is for someone who loves the mountains, outdoors, nature, trees and animals. Our 20 acre property joins up to the US Forest Service land, with endless trails and roads to hike, ride (horses/bikes) and explore.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a 20 acre property bordering the US Forest Service land with 8 horses, 2 Aussie dogs, 40 chickens, and 3 cats. We also grow and bale hay for the horses once a year with harvesting in July (bucking bales in July and maybe also September). There are always fencing, sanding, staining, painting, gardening (organic)/weeding, housework (laundry, dishes, cooking, organizing, cleaning) feeding and watering the animals, horse area maintenance (including poop, poop and more horse poop and also dog poop), some furniture to refinish, plants to water and other projects. From mid-May to July we have irrigation pipes to move daily. Did I mention weeding? ;-) I would love particularly to have a person that enjoys and is experienced and confident riding and exercising horses, cooking, cleaning and dishes, and Jim would love to have someone help him with property maintenance projects, so someone willing to help with just about anything would be awesome, but riding/exercising the horses (other than feeding and poop) is not allowed if you don't have experience (Jim is recovering from a brain injury that happened after an inexperienced person was allowed by another workaway to ride a horse he should not have been on and the horse became overly sensitive to cues and they fell down together---despite the helmet, Jim was seriously brain injured - This happened May 4, 2019). Please note that horse riding hours applied to the 25 hours a week is limited to 2 hours a day, and anything over that is on your own time/not counted. We can usually accommodate someone whose desire is to enjoy the horses during the warm weather months of April (sometimes very chilly) through October (October is also sometimes very chilly), although if you want to come in the winter, riding in the cold and snow is okay as well. Since I'm always tied to my desk and Jim has issues with balance and 24/7 dizziness, he frankly has a hard time handling the horse related chores any more! Also, the horses would otherwise just sit around because Jim can't ride again yet and I don't have time due to my mortgage business. I absolutely love, love seeing people enjoy our horses and putting them to work and the horses love it too! We have a large riding arena and small round pen for working with the horses, plus both English/dressage saddles (for arena work, although we don't have horses trained for dressage) and Western saddles (for trail rides). There are endless trails in the forest straight from the back of our property, plus we have a 3 horse trailer to go to other nearby trails, including crossing creeks, etc. if a person is skilled at pulling a horse trailer. Our neighbor John (retired police officer) loves to ride our horse Ranger, and he is sometimes willing to haul the horse trailer and take our workaways to other fun trails. We have Ranger and Whisky (Palominos), Little and Sally (Quarter Horses), Hondo (Quarter Horse Paint), Lance (Egyptian Arabian), and Boo, half Arab and half Paint Quarter Horse. Old guy Chance (Quarter Horse) is retired. The minimum daily chores include feeding/watering all of the animals (dogs/horses/chickens), kitchen stuff (dishes/cleaning countertops, etc), horse poop in/around the barn and anywhere near the house, weeding/watering/maintaining the garden during gardening season, making sure the chicken nests have plenty of shavings and the chicken coop is clean. We almost always have more than one workaway, so this stuff can be done within the 3.5 hours per day (which equals 25 hours per week/per person), which should leave you plenty of time to enjoy the horses.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are queen/full sized beds in two private bedrooms on the main floor (one with a TV), a queen size bed in a private basement bedroom with a TV, one twin sized bed in another basement area with less privacy, a kiddy play area with a bed (private, but you have to duck going in and out), plus a wall tent being built in the woods with an outhouse and compost toilet which is more primitive. We usually only have workaways in the 3 private bedrooms, but have had to rescue a few workaways unexpectedly who needed to leave where there were and have ended up with overflow (into the less private rooms). There is one shared full bathroom and a bathroom with a toilet and sink off of the great room where there is a 70" HD TV with surround sound, fireplace, play room with pool table and poker table and amazing views.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are abundant rivers, lakes, hiking areas, fishing, and a ski area 30 minutes away. Yellowstone and Glacier National Parks are within a reasonable driving distance as well (4-5 hours). Please note that we are in a rural area about 10 minutes from the small town of Darby, 30 minutes from the larger town of Hamilton, and 1.5 hours from the City of Missoula. There is no public transportation, so we are happy pick up/drop off our workaways at the Missoula, MT, airport (we usually send a workaway to drop off/pick up because the long drive is hard on Jim since his brain injury). If you have a driving license and insurance, you can borrow our old ranch truck to go exploring nearby if it is not in the shop being repaired. We also have an Audi A3 for the airport and grocery runs. I am always intensely working in my home office in the loft above the kitchen so you won't see much of me during the work week and Jim has been less social and chatty due to his brain injury, but you will see him chopping wood and doing laundry and other chores and cooking in the kitchen sometimes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet comes from a wireless tower, is unlimited and pretty good although not as fast as cable internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of space to park

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    yes, please let us know what you have in mind. Dogs only (our cats do not take kindly to strange cats)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week, 3.5 hours per day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







































Host ref number: 353644985747