Help in the countryside of Kochi, on the beautiful island of Shikoku, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 549 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, everyone!
    My name is Naoko, I am a professional chef.

    We live in Kochi / Shikoku Island, Japan. We are approximately 5-6 hours from Osaka by train or bus, or 3 hours from Okayama.

    We are currently living in a 100 years old traditional Japanese style house, which had been renovated very well.
    The house is surrounded by mountains, full of stars in the night, rice field and full size of the Japanese garden.

    I love traveling all over the world. Also, I love cooking and meeting new people.
    We have five chickens as our pet, they are free to roam around, so if you do not like chickens, sorry but this is not the place for you.

    We will be grateful for any help if you are skilled and experienced in DIY/building, plumbing, or gardening.

    A car is not necessary but would be helpful. A bus stop is just a front of the house, however, the bus comes only several times a day.
    Although we have two bicycles that you can use to roam around the village.

    You will have your own Tatami Japanese style room and use a shared bathroom. I am very happy to cook your dinner and breakfast when you do work for us, but you will have to provide your own lunch and your free day's meals.

    We have no TV in the house, but there is free unlimited WIFI.
    We speak Japanese and English.

    Kochi city "capital of Kochi prefecture" only 40mints by car.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Have an experience of Japanese local culture, such as Japanese cooking or baking if you want to.
    I graduated from the Tokyo Sushi Academy 2 years ago, so I can teach you how to make Sushi.
    (I am sorry but I am not a professional Sushi chef, I just know how to make sushi )

    We do not have many tourist activities spots, but you can enjoy real Japanese life, culture, nature, and meet locals.
    We have a few nice cafe or onsen, a hiking trail, and a few waterfalls in this area.

    My next door is Karaoke-shop, which is open for the local farmers who are living in the area. They love to sing a song! You can go to sing an English song, and enjoy your time with locals.

    Cycling along the Monobe river as the gentle blow of wind can make feel relaxed and optimistic all day long.

    Please enjoy Kochi/ Shikoku island with friendly people, good and fresh foods, and lots of nature.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a big project going on in the garden, so we will be grateful for any help if you are skilled and experienced in DIY/building, plumbing, painting, or gardening.

    ------------

    Gardening - We need help setting up the vegetable garden, weeding, and other parts of the garden.

    Clearing- tidy up the storage or shed, inside and outside the house commercial kitchen as well

    Building- outdoor table, fix new chickens coop, ponds, plumbing job, stonework, etc we are waiting for your suggestion.

    If you could please mention your skills in your message that would be helpful.

    ------------

    We have so many things to do, please come and join us. Let's have fun and share our precious time together.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Japanese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own Tatami room/Japanese style with futon mattress. Between room to room is Fusuma paper doors.
    Shared bathroom and shower room separate from the house.

    I will cook your Lunch and Dinner for your workday. Not include your breakfast and your day off's meal, please provide your own foods and ingredient by yourself.

    I am happy to cook vegetarian, gluten/dairy-free meals if needed. We would like to ask you to give a hand to tidy up after meals and basic cleaning and tidy up at the common area without your work-time.

    Drinks, especially alcohol is not included and this is a smoking free facility.

    We have no TV in the house, sorry.

    There is free unlimited WIFI.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The closest train station is Tosayamada.

    I possibly could pick you up at the Tosayamada station. or you can catch the bus bound to our place.

    Access to the Kochi- city center takes about 40mints by car. small store about 3mints by car.
    big supermarket about 20mints by car, river 10mints on foot.

    We have four hot springs ( onsen) around my house.

    To a famous hiking trail (Mt Sanrei or Mt Miune ) is about an hour drive to the starting point of a trail. In the mountain, there is a mountain hut which is free to stay overnight for a hiker.

    Our area call Kahoku-cho, has a beautiful nature and we still have Japanese old lifestyle and culture here. so you can feel the life of the locals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 352579928287