Enjoy a cultural exchange, British family - Germany! :-)



Favourited 36 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are a family and live in a smaller subburb but have in walking sistance (5-10 minutes) 3 bakerys, 2 supermarkets, 2 little cloth-shops, 3 hairdresser, 3 takeaways (italien, turkish and german), 1 english-shop, a petrol station, doctors and dentist, physiotherapists, podologe and a church. Into other subburbs are 2 swimming-pools one of them have big slides and a wave-pool. The bus stop is one minute by foot into town, where you can go shopping and use cafés, pups, cinema, library, 2 little museum. You can go by bike, too. It is a nice ride through our subburb and most of the way throuh the town-park with botanical garden, crazy-golf, little lake. In the town-park with it's little river you can go running, walking and drive the bike. See more informations for things to do arround us below in this profile, there are many places to see. :-)

    We have dual apprenticeships which is a special german system to
    learn half by doing and half in specialized occup.-schools).

    We are a family of 3 (2 are british and 1 is german) and raise our child billingual with the "immerse-principle" (one person = one language or one "topic/place etc." = one language... So the father is only speaking english with him and the mother is only spaeking german with him, except persons are arround who can't/don't speak german then she also tries her engish...)
    We like to travel, see the country, the towns and the nature. We like to ride the bike and often we adapt our bikes to the car for the bikes-rides and for the holiday. We like to photograph and make real photobooks from them. We like to practise our English and improve our French. :-)

    Our interests are:

    photography, cooking, baking, languages, language exchange, bike riding, france, england, familytravel, britain, nature walks, zumba, swimming, kanoing, football (also watching...), scotland, wales, barefoot shoes, homemade kephir, interested to learn bee keeping, doing beefriendlygardening

    Music, films, books:
    ...there are soo much and different music, movies and books we like. I don't know where I should beginn. :-)

    Good experience:
    In many holidays - in different years, we travelled arround the whole coast of France.

    Learn, teach, share:

    We like best to host only english speaking people, to let our child practice his english, because he only answers in english when the other person do not speak one word german... ;-)

    Practise our English or improve our French while having a good conversation.

    Maybe we can give tips, to organize thousands of digital fotos over many years to find it back and maybe some tips for fotobooks.

    We can bake cakes with our own apples in September or/and bring them to a little company and take the apple juice...

    We like to learn, someday photography-technics with a digital reflex camera.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like we can show you arround in our town and you can choose if you like to join us to some activities during the week and the weekends.

    If you have questions about some topics in germany like traveling or other things we try always to help.

    Maybe improving your German when our son is not listening (when he is in school or to bed...)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Practise english with our son by talking and playing with him and his toys, show interest and motivation for his things. Maybe helping to motivate him to do his homework.
    Helping arround the household with normal routine issues (like hovering-up) and preparing a meal.
    If you are interested in gardening, we can do some easy things together, if you like. (July we have cherries, September we have lots of apples and some tomatos.)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Our home:

    You will have upstairs a bedroom for yourself to sleep.

    We have only one big bathroom. Downsstairs we have a seperate toilette and sink, too.

    You will be a part of our family, without saying, you should clean after yourself.
    If you see something is need to do, help us to get it ready.

    No pets.
    No smoking, plaese.


  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our favourites naerby or not too far away...:


    Gütersloh, to look arround, have a walk, go shopping a bit, go to the cinema, go to the library, to relax or go running/bike riding in the "Stadtpark" and the botanical garden, go swimming at the "Welle" or in the "Nordbad" or in a nice "Biergarden like:

    - "Parkbad" with Ostwestfalens biggest wading/paddling pool with playground, trampolines and beach volleyball area. Good for little children to splash arround in ap. 30 centimeter deep water, with their parents... The entry is free and their is a nice outside bar etc.

    - "Die Weberei"
    Nice pub with events and culture projects, partys, cinema. Sunday brunch sometimes with kids entertaining. In summer very nice beergarden next to a little river "Dalke" and "Stadtpark" and next to a playground. From there it takes only 5 minutes by foot to be in the pedestrian precint.

    Cafe & Bar Celona in Gütersloh:
    Nice to go and have a coffee and let the kids play because they have a good playing area, too.

    British food and drinks in a nice irish pub.

    - Wasserturm Gütersloh
    Friedrichstraße 14, 33330 Gütersloh
    Nice little area in the town, next to the town centre and next to the river Dalke with the Stadtpark and some nice pubs and the Theater next to it.

    Bielefeld, (ap. 18km) to go shopping and have a walk at the "Sparrenburg".

    Heimat-Tierpark Olderdissen
    Dornberger Str. 149A, 33619 Bielefeld, Germany
    Nice little zoo in the forest with playgrounds and Restaurant. Ap. 18 km from Gütersloh. The entry is free. Parking costs 2€ a day.

    Nice little town ap 15 km, famous for its little, cute christmas market and also a nice walking, park area with (water-) Playground.

    Nice town with a verry nice christmas market in wintertime ap. 40km from Gütersloh.

    Nice town (ap. 60km) to go shopping and have a walk through the old town. In December there is a very nice christmas market.

    Zoo Safaripark Stuckenbrock
    Mittweg 16, 33758 Schloß Holte-Stukenbrock, Germany
    Nice Safaripark ap. 22km from Gütersloh, because of the atractions inkl. Megarides also for adults interesting... Prices between 24€ (Friday family day) and 30 € each person and 3€ car-parking.

    Gartenschaupark Rietberg
    Torfweg, 33397 Rietberg, Germany
    Verry nice Park ap 13km away with (water-) playgrounds, with a high slide tower, lakes, barefoot-path, a green labyrinth, a few animals (water buffalos, ducks, chickens, bees with their hives) a wooden viewing tower. A Restaurant/Cafe opening on weekends. The entry in the winter 1€ each adult and the rest of the year 5€ each adult own kids free. There are pedalo-boats on weekends, camping-pods and a high climbing area for extra-costs, too. There are lots of events for the whole family:

    Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe
    34131 Kassel, Germany
    Nice park, walking area ap. 133 km away


    Nice walkking area with point of view, ap 45km away

    Externsteiner Str. 35, 32805 Horn-Bad Meinberg, Germany
    Nice nature area, ap. 53 km away

    Naturpark Teutoburger Wald / Eggegebirge
    Grotenburg 52, 32760 Detmold, Germany
    "Hermannsweg" Walking trail forest area between following towns: Hörstel (85km away), Ibbenbüren, Tecklenburg, Lengerich, Bad Iburg, Hilter am Teutoburger Wald, Borgholzhausen, Halle Westfalen (20km away), Werther, Bielefeld Dornberg, (Ober-) Steinhagen (15km away), Oerlinghausen, Detmold (40km away), Horn Bad Meinberg (53km), Bad Driburg.

    Hiking in summer, little skiing in winter:
    34508 Willingen, Germany
    Nice little winter skiing and summer walking area in the "Sauerland". Ap. 100km away

    Some km more away:

    Zoo, Hannover, Germany, ap. 130km away
    Very nice zoo.

    Cologne, Germany
    Nice big town ap. 185km away. Famous for it's Carnival in Februar and Fireworks in the summer (Kölner Lichter).

    Düsseldorf, Germany
    Ap. 165km away. Big town for shopping etc. with very nice christmas markets in december.

    Miniatur Wunderland
    Kehrwieder 2-4/Block D, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
    Ap. 250km away.

    SEA LIFE Oberhausen
    Zum Aquarium 1, 46047 Oberhausen, Germany
    Ap. 135km away.

    Hanover, Germany
    Nice town to go shopping with nice "Herrenhäuser" gardens to walk, Sea Life etc. Ap. 130 km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 351673754681