Help our son to improve his English, and have a great experience with our happy family in Girona, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 169 times
  • Last activity: 17 May 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are Ana, Eduard and Biel (9 years old). We are looking for a young English native person to spend time with our son.
    We want him to learn English in a funny way. Biel is a very cheerful, friendly and polite child. He loves stories, drawing, singing, doing inventions, playing Lego robotics, dressing up and playing any game you propose him.

    Ana (46 years old) works in a pharmaceutical company. Eduard (45 years old) is a magician and psychology professor. Both of us work normally at home. We are a nice family and there is always a very good atmosphere at home.

    We live in Llagostera, a small town of 8000 inhabitants, at 15 km far away from the beach (the famous Costa Brava) and 20 km from the city of Girona. It’s a very well communicated town with a good public transport.
    Our house is located downtown. It has recently been renovated, has two floors, a garden and enough space to enjoy your stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to get to know one of the Catalan/Spanish ways of life. We like Mediterranean cuisine and eat healthy. In our house you can share and live with us the traditions and customs of our land.

    We would like to share meals with you, and have a real cultural exchange. We ask for workawayers who do not speak or understand Spanish, but if you want to start learning catalan or spanish, we would be happy to speak with you in any of these languages during meals or free time. In our house we speak both languages, Spanish and Catalan.

    You will have plenty of free time for yourself to do your hobbies and to visit and explore our beautiful area.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for a young English native person who likes children (9 years old) and don't speak spanish.

    Your help will consist in sharing time with Biel, playing or doing activities, always speaking only in English. From Monday to Friday we will need from you 4-5 hours a day.

    As you will be alone with our son, please, write us only if you are a VERY responsible person. We also expect a cheerful active person, outgoing and with initiative, who loves children. Biel is a very lovely boy, and if you have these qualities, we are sure that you will enjoy a lot your workaway time with him.

    You will also contribute to some household tasks (cleaning, washing dishes, clothes, cooking, etc.), just like any other member of our family.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room (comfortable, bright) with bathroom almost for your own (we have 2 baths and we can offer you a lot of privacy).

    Our house is nice and is located in town centre.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Llagostera is very close to the wonderful city of Girona, the Costa Brava and the Pyrenees. In our area there are many beautiful places you can visit (we will love to show them to you).

    PLEASE, make sure that you have fully read our profile before contacting us. When you send us a message, please tell us a little more about yourself if not in your profile: What have you done since leaving school? Where are you from? Any skills? Education? Hobbies? Thank you! And don't hesitate to ask all the doubts you might have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 351148277194

Feedback (7)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)