Looking for some extra hands on our organic farm near Papanasam, Tirunelveli, India

Country

India

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Noushadya and I are a couple running an organic farm since 2018 near Papanasam, Tirunelveli. We quit our corporate jobs back then and we wanted to lead as healthy, sustainable a life as possible. And here we are doing just that! Our family and friends join us to help at the farm often. There are 4 full time workers at the farm from the nearby village. The farm has native cows, native chicken and dogs. Only 5.5 acre of the total 11 acres in fenced. Out of the 5.5 acres, 1 acre is alloted to all buildings and infrastructure, 1 acre is a coconut grove, 1 acre is dedicated to annual crops, the rest is amix of various trees : mostly neem, palm, fruit and timber. The unfenced land is used for cow grazing.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Papanasam has a tiger reserve, waterfall, river and a temple. So it is quite a touristy spot.

    Noushadya and I have learnt a lot of techniques that can make life at the farm easier for beginners to lead a sustainable life. We would love to share this knowledge with you. Noushadya loves to cook and I love to play music. So lots of fun times to be had :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are going to be focusing on soil health building and vegetable cultivation the next 2 months. The clayey soil is in a workable condition now in most places. So, Volunteers and we will plant a lot of green manure trees around the farm which we will later chop & drop to improve organic matter in the soil. Volunteers will also learn to prepare Compost piles and Jeevamrutham, which are used to accelerate the process of decomposition.

    For vegetable cultivation, we want to prepare raised beds with fertile soil and manure. We have all the raw material we need at the farm itself. Volunteers will need to plan layout and measure and move everything into place.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent
    Tamil: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house at the farm was built in 2019 and 2020. It is locally made with mud walls, flat roof called Madras terrace and natural plasters. We have space to accommodate 2 people with limited privacy in one of the rooms of the earth house, if none of our family members are visiting. If you have a tent or even just mosquito net along with a sleeping bag, you can sleep under the open sky.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Reaching here is easy by bus or train or a combination of both. Local bus transport is fairly frequent and convenient.

    We love to spend time with like minded people who want to create an impact on this planet. We care about ecosystems around us and all our decisions are now starting to get aligned to protecting them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 348961918751