Come and help our family in this beautiful corner of Spain, Alpujarra

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Italian-Spanish family who lives in a small village in the Alpujarra of Granada, one of the most unique regions of Andalusia and Spain. The white villages with their peculiar arquitecture, the quietness and the relaxed rithm of life give the feeling of standing still in time and going back to the roots of authentic Spain. We
    are Cinzia and Salvador with our daughters Sandra and Lilia, and also our two dogs, who are very good and playful. We manage an activity in the hotel industry, so that we have a lot of experience in receiving people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe that the exchange will be very enriching. You will have the opportunity to explore the beautiful natural environment that surrounds us, discovering La Alpujarra, a peculiar region of small white villages hanging on the slopes of the mountains of the Sierra Nevada National Park, full of culture and traditions, influenced by all the cultures that have settled in this area through history. If you want to experience the daily life of a small Spanish community, if you like the contact with nature, the sun and relaxation this is the place for you.
    At the same time we think it's good for our daughters to relate and share experiences with people from other cultures and maybe even to learn something of other languages.

  • Help

    Help

    Our job leaves us very little free time, so we need help with the basic tasks of the house (cleaning, laundry, ironing etc...) and sometimes with our younger daughter Lilia. The work is 4 hours a day, starting at 8,30 am, 6 days a week, even if some flexibility could be necessary, meaning doing less on some days and more on other days. We ask the volunteers to stay for a minimum 3 or 4 weeks.
    We would like to have a girl who is used to doing housework and who has experience with children, with a positive attitude and a healthy lifestyle, absolutely non smoker, who speaks some Spanish and for whom it's not a problem to stay in a small quiet mountain village.
    Yoga or pilates teachers could be particularly appreciated on some times of the year.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is in a studio with 4 beds (2 bunk beds), with kitchenette and bathroom, located just below our house. Sometimes it is shared with other people who come to practice in our activity. We offer breakfast and lunch, while volunteers provide for their own dinner and for lunch on the free days. There are some shops in the village of Bérchules, more or less one kilometer from the hotel.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the free time you can do walking and hiking, take the sun in the terrace and occasionally enjoy some of the facilities of our hotel depending on the availability of the moment (swimming pool, gym, spa…).
    Just keep in mind that we live in a very quiet place (at least for most of the year), without much entertainment. The Alpujarra is not for those who look for fun and “movida”, but it can be the ideal place to relax, stay in touch with nature, disconnect from the world and find one’s inner self.
    Our village is about 100 km from the cities of Granada and Almeria, which are also the nearest airports, and about 150 km from Malaga. There are only two buses a day from Granada (it takes 4 hours) and one from Almeria (it takes about 3 hours).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day,


Host ref number: 345791835767