Help around our family homestead in Florianopolis, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everybody.
    We are the Gotardo’s (Pedro (big brother), Enzo (little brother) and Milton (dad)), and we would love to have your help we are situated at Campeche - Florianopolis.
    Hello my name is Pedro, and I come up with the idea of having volunteers here at my dad's house after traveling as a backpacker and also experiencing it being a host (in here: ). All the process of receiving someone new at our place is magical, the exchange of cultures, perspectives about life, death, love and the universe in and out is awesome.
    As so we see ourselves in this situation:
    My dad (Milton) Works out as a salesman for most of the week, my 17 year old brother is finishing the college and may be going away to do university, and I am living 600km away, taking care of things back at the old west.
    After my parents divorce our family hold has been trough a lot of processes, we’ve been out and in on this house sometimes, at the end it has been rented, the renters did not take good care of the house, and now its desperately in need of a lil’love, by that I mean attention, maintence, good care, insightfull looks which really understands whats going on in there.
    Im not living at Florianopolis, atm im finishing my architecture degree back at Rio Grande do Sul, where I take care of the place at the other link up there.
    For me everything surrounding us is trying to communicate or at least expressing something that can or can be not be perceived by us, that’s what architecture is for me, the perception of the land scape, the wishes and needs of a place, a family, a whole city or even a civilization. The architect role is to understand it and be able to give it the best use for the place and the people who living on it, that said we came to our house and our project:
    The project is to first of all fix and add life to the house once again, the gardens are sad, the grass (which has been removed and covered with stones) is reborning, but there are plenty of things to do here, walls wanting art to happen, gardens wanting life to happen, my dad really need some off work conection with people, my brother is a awesome person with very peculiar set of skills and perceptions and a unique sight of the world and I would love to give him the opportunity to get to know new people with different perspectives of the world and experiences to share coz it really opens our view sight.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My dad understand a lot about medicines, pharmacos and also natural he has studie oriental medicine so he can provide you very good information about it. (healing path)

    We are situated at florianopolis which is a turistic city, full of tracks, waterfalls and awesome beachs you will be able to enjoy it all while staying here, my brother can take you to know some places he enjoys doing tracks and at theres a moutain near by our house where you can go up and have full see of the islands and everything. (natural strong body path)

    I can also host people at Frederico, where we are doing the project of permaculture'ish, and also studying the medicines from the jungle, as rapé or ayahuasca, our project there is to create a place for comunity grows being able to produce organic food, teas and medicines and being able to create this bridges to conect everything (enlightment path)

  • Help

    Help

    We need people with a easy going flow which are able to comunicate with persons and also like dogs, our needs are people who can help on maintence of the house once most of time theres no one in here to do it proper, also people who have experience in gardering and small crops growing would be awesome.
    The project is to first of all fix and add life to the house once again, the gardens are sad, the grass (which has been removed and covered with stones) is reborning, but there are plenty of things to do here, walls wanting art to happen, gardens wanting life to happen.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can provide you a single/couple bedroom with bathroom.

    You have to provide your own food. For sure there will be food at the house and for sure you will be invited to share our meals, but at the moment we cannot afford to provide meals always.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Florianopolis aka Magic Island is knowed for its beachs, lagoons and waterfalls, also there is a lot of places to have a good time, hang out etc.. Besides it there are several places for meditation, reiki, natural medicines, etc... So if you want to party there will be places to do it, if you're looking for meditative, mindfullness and conection there will be also.
    Enjoy it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours/5 days a week - no meals


Host ref number: 345591469266