Helping with horses in a beautiful area of Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 624 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Spanish family running a horse riding business in Portugal. We offer you a multicultural experience. Our organic farm is located in Marvao, a touristic place in the wild nature with very beautiful sceneries, next to the Spanish border.
    The father, Jose, is a doctor and has to work often. The mother, Maria, studies Political Science. And the 5 "children", from 17 to 27 years old, come to help whenever they can. So we need someone who could look after the 16 horses (plus a mule), around 20h a week.
    In the business, we do everything: horseback rides in the nature with tourists, horseriding lessons, hippotherapy, break in horses... We need someone that has been already in touch with horses, love them and likes to take care of them, and someone who is enthousiastic, with a lot of energy and not afraid of hard work.
    We love to ride without saddle, in the nature. We love volley ball beach and we do it every time we can in good weather ;)
    Be ready for a true Spanish family with a lot of energy!! (Although during low season is really quiet and very good for those who seek peace and quiet ;)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a Spanish family living in Portugal who also speak English and French. We are very welcoming and if you like we will show you around. Our area is really beautiful, both for its typical towns and amazing landscapes :)

  • Help

    Help

    The work will be to feed the horses twice a day (it takes around 20 mins), get them ready for a ride if there are clients coming. If any member of the family is not here to do it, you should be able to give lessons or be the guide of the ride. Don't worry, we will train you, it is very easy! We are fond of nature, so we don't like to put shoes to our horses or put them in boxes. We leave them on the nature, where they are more confortable. Occasionnally we will ask you to polish the saddles or some other work around the farm, but it will mainly be about horses all the time.
    For the months with less work, we have other kinds of work, like gardening, farming, building, and help in the house. If you know how to cook, even better.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, Portuguese, English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room. You may be alone some days during the week. Because of this, we need someone we can completely trust.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week


















Host ref number: 344562846494