Help with everyday household tasks in Cobble Hill, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    576

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We LOVE farming. It is our life and our joy.

    We (James and Cammy), both work more than full time on the farm. Our house and property is neglected, and housecleaning, home maintenance and yard work doesn't happen as often as I would like it to. It is time for some projects!

    We would really like someone, or a couple who can help around our house with basic cleaning, special projects (like organizing things and renovating rooms), a bit of child-care (we'd love a night out!), and a bit of 'office' help with filling things away etc, and help exercising the dogs. Our list of jobs is endless, so there is much to pick and choice from.

    We offer separate living accommodation and cooking facilities so that you have your own space.The accommodation will be shared with farm volunteers/employees. There are always interesting people to meet around here.

    We started farming 7 years ago with our little house in town in our dirt patch and with 3 chickens. We now have 5 acres, 6000 laying hens, a large greenhouse, several fields and three kids!

    We have hosted volunteers for several years and have really enjoyed having people from around the world live with us. Longer stays are appreciated as people really do become part of the family! Many meals here have been shared and enjoyed.

    From our guest book

    "Thank you so much for the lovely two weeks I spent at your farm and in your family. It was a lot of fun learning all the things about planting and gardening and of course, selling the veggies on the market was one of the highlights. I wish you all the best for the future. May the farm extend and the veggies grow like Crazy!"

    A German Volunteer.

    "Thank you so much for having me. You guys accept me warm hospitality. I was really happy because you guys kept me company when I was working and give me a lot of different work. I've learnt a lot of things about farming and also you guys's life style. I had a really wonderful experience here. I'll study English more and more and I hpe to see you again!!!"

    A Japanese Volunteer.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Oh my goodness! This question is hard to answer as you really can learn so much from being here. It all depends on what you want to learn, and how you want to learn. We are skilled farmers and good business owners. We adhere to several different governing bodies and are becoming masters in understanding rules and regulations. We speak English, and we like to do everything ourselves. We LOVE to celebrate holidays!

    Honestly, you will 'get-out' of your stay as much as you put into it. You will learn what you came here to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    Right now we need domestic and special project support! We'd like a couple who can help with our family, basic cleaning, organizing, help with the kids maybe some cooking, and help with some home projects like re-doing some rooms, yard maintenance, splitting firewood, and some renovations work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and shared living areas. As it is a fully furnished suite, you are responsible to prepare most of your own meals. Sometimes you can join us for dinner. We provide basic groceries.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helpers can borrow bicycles and check out the local lakes, rivers, hikes, farms, harbours, wineries and cideries.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 344419836997