House sitting at our villa in Sicily, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 510 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    901

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Workawayers :)

    I sometimes need help with gardening/maintenance and/or house-sitting in my villa in Sicily not far from Siracusa just South of Noto, my villa is called 'Villa Vendicari' and you can easily find it online, it's near the sea.

    In high season, when we don't use it ourselves, we mostly rent the villa out for a revenue, but in low season I hardly find anyone willing to pay a price that is higher than maintenance costs. Starting middle of November to mid February therefore prefer to have one or two house-sitters or, when I'm there, one or two workawayers for some gardening help (pruning, help with olive harvest or other fruits harvest, etc) and to keep the house well tuned, clean and in good order.

    The villa is very isolated, meaning about 2hrs walk to the closest supermarket. I think other than that, or, actually, thanks to that, it's the most beautiful place to stay on your own. It's divided in two villas, you, in case of house-sitting, would use one of them, likely the smaller one, but not necessarily depending on which I may need for myself, friends or possible renters or, in case of workawaying, have one room.

    Regarding the renters, it's very hard to rent in the low season and I don't like to rent cheap which I think it's detrimental for a number of reasons, so I don't think it will happen and I will avoid renting the whole property, but in that very unlikely event I will find you another place to stay in the area with the same house-sitting conditions.

    The house is self sustainable with solar heated water and solar panels and a solar power accumulator of 14KW, during your stay I would like you to use only solar power and renewables, it's what I do when I am there, perfectly fine, but not 5 star hotels comfort, ie in a cloudy day you may have very little hot water if any, but thankfully it's almost always sunny over here ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Vendicari is a tourist destination, I'm not sure what to add that isn't already online. I personally like to meet new people, my interests are psychoanalysis, winter swimming, philosophy and some literature.

  • Help

    Help

    During the winter I'm interested in house keeping for the villa in Vendicari, Sicily. Some gardening and maybe a little building or maintenance. Still contact me also in other seasons, you never know if I may need help.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    if we find a suitable time frame there should be at least an independent bedroom for the workaway(s)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vendicari is a tourist destination, I'm not sure what to add that isn't already online but you're welcome to ask

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I work from home and I have no problems sharing the wifi with workawayers

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Sure, I have two hectares of garden and also tents and a tree house, alternative forms of accommodation are actually very welcome

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Most of the times I enjoy the company of Igor, an adult male dog, that is the sweetest persona I know, to me and all the other humans (too much of that really, since he can make me feel quite jealous sometimes :), but rather big and often aggressive both to male dogs and cats that trespass 'his' territory, other than that I love pets so let's talk if you're willing to take your own no problem for me (yours should rather talk to Igor first really :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours per week - depends let's talk

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 827664415844