Help us at home and with our animals in Hooper, Utah, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    186

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a rural/suburban small city, Hooper. Our four children are grown and three have children of their own. We are members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. Our faith and that lifestyle is important to us. Husband drives truck and I do horse hauling once in a while. We are Animal lovers and have fur family. Two horses, two dogs, one cat and one bunny. I am in my 50's and need help with physical work. Not as young and strong as I use to be. I am an active member of the Back country Horsemen of Utah. It is a Volunteer, non profit organizations that uses Equine in the back country.
    We live near the Great Salt Lake, Ski Resorts, Camping, Boating, Fishing, Hunting, Colleges and Universities, sporting events and complexes, art, Temple Squares, Genealogy Library in Salt Lake City and music too. There is a lot of opportunity here in the Wasatch Front areas. Utah has many State Parks and 6 National Parks.
    We are NON smokers, NON alcoholic consumers, NON drug users and expect the same of those around us. We want clean language and modest, decent, clean appearance and attire. Individuality is fine but respectful. Cleanliness and manners, consideration of others is important. Safety is VERY important and a good work ethic.
    I was referred to this program from a hosting friend of this program.
    Couples need to be legally married and we prefer an individual but will consider married couples.
    If there is a person who would fit with this area and this type of home life we would be very interested in hosting them.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Various different cultures are in Utah. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints headquarters are in Salt Lake City. This church has a great Genealogical Library. You could take advantage and do some genealogical family research while you are here! Our state has wonderful outdoor life! The history and types of areas are fascinating. There are several colleges here and universities that have carious cultural things as well as many communities. Diverse peoples and cultures have came to Utah specifically for these.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with taking care of home and Animals while we are away working or on trips. We have projects we need help with like fencing, digging, cleaning, home maintenance, mucking horse stall/runs. This year we are putting automatic waterers in the horses stall runs from the house plumbing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We own (paying mortgage) our horse property 6 bedroom home. Volunteer will have some transportation at times, food and room with hall bathroom. They can have a pet. It would be best to have their own transportation. Bus service is several miles away and there is a commuter train linking cities. We have internet they can use for their cell phone or their own computer- highly recommended. Able to go on horseback rides if interested. LDS Churches and as well as other faiths/religions too near. Salt Lake City does have an airport if flying in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Much is mentioned in the other questions. They can do what they are interested in. Expect tasks, chores or projects done when needed. Arrangements can be made for their activities and times off. Sunday is devoted to faith, family. Time and activities to reflect that. Their family or friend visits need to be arranged. Some tasks, work and activities will be done together and others on their own. Someone who wants to attend a college would work great here. Salt Lake City and Ogden which is the bigger city we are closest too are small compared to other major cities in much of the Untied States but do offer a lot of things! SLC offers Broadway shows here. There have been a lot of prehistoric live discovered in Utah. SLC city did host the Winter Olympics and surround areas many years back.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Riding Harley up at Snow Basin Resort.
Our Spirited Stalls with Harley and Goldie.
Taken this last Christmas time. Shows a bit of what our place looks like. We have lived her since Jan. 2000.
Our neighborhood west of us. That is a moon set early in the morning.
David, husband with Goldie. We live 1 block away from a outdoor rodeo area and park.
Bently- female part Pit Bull, Chihuahua, ??? Sakura- my youngest Daughter's dog. female Husky, German Shepard, Korgie mix. Xia- female Long Haired Seal Point Siamese
A photo taken this January of me and my dog Bently Babe.


Host ref number: 343961398259