Help with child minding and enjoy living in the Montseny natural park between Barcelona and Girona, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single parent living in a country house in the Montseny natural park between Barcelona and Girona. Orginally from the UK I have been settled here for over 30 years and live with my two children, 9 & 12 years. The kids are cheerful, chatty and adventurous. We tend to speak English at home but adapt to Spanish or Catalan in company.

    The house is 3km from the local town of Breda, situated in woodland full of wildlife including boars, rabbits, hares, foxes, buzzards, woodpeckers, cuckoos, hoopoes, jays...etc. We have fruit trees, a garden pond and various organic veg plots

    There are two dogs, a skilled older guard dog and an 8 month family puppy. Our three chickens roam the garden and give us three oranic eggs a day. The pond brings frogs and dragonflies into the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living with our family you have the opportunity of learning and practising either English, Spanish or Catalan in a natural family setting. Learning a language with children is more fun and less stressful as you feel less pressure and embarrassment.

    You will have the opportunity of being introduced to local town life through accompanying the kids in their activities and meeting their friends and their families. It's a great ice-breaker and way to meet people.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Childcare is needed Mon to Thurs, lunchtime (12.15-2.45pm - pick up, lunch, play, homework, drop off) and after school 4.15pm-8pm (pick up, play in park, homework, dinner).

    The kids need some support with their homework due to struggling academically and dyslexia.

    Own car is essential for picking up and dropping off kids to school 3km away.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am an English teacher and speak Spanish fluently. My children are fluent in English, Spanish and Catalan.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have the charming attic room in the old part of the rural house with your own personal bathroom at the foot of the steps. You will share the kitchen, living spaces and garden with the rest of the family.
    There's plenty of space to park.
    All your bills will be covered, plus some pocket money.

    You are welcome to bring other pets, except for cats, due to allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have plenty of free time to explore, study, write, draw, take photos... enjoy your own creative pursuits. The natural park is beautiful for walks, runs or cycling trips (we can lend a bike), like treking to Montsoriu castle above the house or walking to local rivers, pools and waterfalls.

    If you are interested in gardening there are the organic veg plots and fruit trees, as well as the garden and pond.

    For day or weekend breaks we're only 55 km to the wonderful city of Barcelona or 45 km to the beautiful city of Girona, which can both be reached by train. The house is only 40 min drive from mediterrenean beaches,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The house has internet and during the lockdown the children and I have been able to work from home running or attending online classes. However, only one person can be in class at a time, so timetables have to be coordinated. In normal circumstances the workawayer will have time when the rest of us aren't here.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space to park a campervan and we can provide electrical hook-ups and water.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have no problem with more pets, as long as all of them get on. However, we can't have cats in the house due to allergies.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 6 horas al día, 4 días a la semana


Host ref number: 343752695876