We offer a unique insight into rural living and community. You will be living 'well off the beaten track' in Ireland.

Country

Ireland

Favourited 35 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    233

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    11 organic acres of land in the beautiful middle of nowhere! Want to learn all about small holding and traditional building methods? Then this is the place for you! Despite this kind of life being a series of repetitive monotonous tasks, which are compulsory if you have animals - here is the place to learn and develop your skills. A practical learning experience in beautiful countryside with wonderful animals and gardens to be! Please note, sadly if you have any allergies, this is not the place for you as I live too far away from help if anything went wrong...sorry.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lyserland offers a unique insight into organic, sustainable rural living and community in Ireland. You will be living 'well off the beaten track' but within half an hour or so of the main routes of where you may want to go! You are encouraged to meet my neighbours and sometimes carry out the tradition of 'meitheal' which is the old Irish tradition where people in rural communities gather together on a neighbour's farm to help!
    I am a qualified TEFL/ESOL teacher, and whilst this is not an English school, I can give a bit of help with English. You will learn about living with animals, care and respect for the land and hopefully have a great time here.

  • Help

    Help

    A wonderful fun place for people interested in learning and practicing organic/sustainable living. 11 acres of beautiful organic land in the middle of nowhere. Hard work but fun! The place was empty for a long time and I've renovated the house using traditional methods. The polytunnel and kitchen garden n general organic farm work are all priorities with much weeding, digging, tidying, building repair, chopping wood, fencing, cooking among other things! General 'adventure' work to be done! A lot of work to do and lots to learn. Be aware that we work outside in all weathers - just like the 'real thing'!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    All sleeping accommodation is outside in a caravan or in benders, or in a tent (bring your own tent or camper van if you wish) with use of the house and facilities, rough and ready, but warm and welcoming. I supply comfy beds, sheets, pillows, duvets and towels.
    I supply all the weekly food. Workawayers would make their own breakfast and we generally have group lunches and I cook the evening meal, tho visitors can have a bash! Mainly vegetarian (or vegan even) with as much local and home grown food as possible and with the odd bit of organic beef or venison which is shot in season on my land. We generally make our own cakes/snacks etc. I have taken volunteers here for the last 10 years, so have it down to a fine art (I hope). I also prefer visitors to go out at weekends/days off, so you fend for yourselves cooking wise.
    Stays over 3 weeks preferred. References essential from someone I can verify details with.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is ideal for walkers and cyclists, with very little traffic and lots of tracks and lanes to explore. Having your own transport is a bonus as lifts to places are limited. It is possible to hitch hike, but again, not a lot of passing traffic! The wildlife here is spectacular with most of Ireland's rare mammals and birds in almost daily sight. It is also a delight for botanists. If you are easily bored, this is not the place for you. Internet access is very poor and again very limited, so if you are dependent on your cell phone or computer, sorry, not the place for you! We live a quietly busy life here! Food is mainly vegetarian, with a little local organic meat eaten very occasionally.
    Don't forget to get Insurance and send me the details! Thanks!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 342891743553