Help on an Alpaca farm in Riegersburg, Austria

Country

Austria

Favourited 396 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    756

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Philip. I'm an Englishman living in Austria. I have a smallholding in the south east of Styria. I breed alpacas and do trekking with them. I also rent rooms in the house and have a small farm shop and serve drinks on my terrace.

    In the winter months, until around April, I just need someone for a week each month to help me keep the house clean and with occasional work with the animals. In February especially as this is when I have to show some animals at the Alpaka Expo in Graz.

    In the summer, from around April/May I am looking for a couple to stay for a longer period, at least a month, to help clean the rooms when guests leave, keep the garden under control, help cleaning out the animals and with the trekking and generally just help me with jobs that are easier with more than one person. One person should enjoy more housework whilst the other should be handy with tools and making/repairing things. I also have 3 dogs who can be quite a handful as they are all rescues. Being confident around dogs is important, and this also means I cannot host people travelling with dogs of their own.

    Looking forward to hearing from you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house is just around the corner from the beautiful castle of Riegersburg and the area is famous for it's apple tree and elderflower orchards and rolling hills. Check the local website for other local attractions. There is also the famous Austrian chocolate factory Zotter close by and the city of Graz is a 50 min drive. My neighbours include a cheese maker, schnapps maker and sparkling wine makers. There's not much in the way of public transport, the closest train station is Feldbach/Raab. I cook only vegetarian food but not vegan, although that is also possible.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi, I'm looking for people to help around the farm. I need someone strong who isn't afraid to be hands on with the animals, sometimes I need to weigh the animals or do some alpaca toe nail cutting for example, you need to be strong and confident enough to hold the animal still while I cut the nails. Apart from that I need help cleaning the house and working outside keeping the grounds under control, trimming apple trees putting up fencing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large guest room with double bed and TV/DVD

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    nearby is a castle, chocolate factory, lots of country walks, champagne tasting, cheese tasting and a swimming lake. Public transport is not good.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Casper
Riegersburg Castle
The beautiful Rivaldo
Blacky, not an Alpaca!
Tru Santos, my first stud!
Sunrise in Styria
















Host ref number: 342675539249