Welcome to my home in the countryside near beautiful Cevennes mountains, Pompignan , France

Country

France

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I’ve just move from Montpellier in countryside near beautiful Cevennes mountains in Gard department in the South of France. My little home settles in the middle of a 5000m2 wooded garden. We are at the edge of a 1000 inhabitants small village surrounded by "Garrigues" that could seem isolated but at only one hour driving from Nice and Montpellier.

    I’m a former vet reinventing her life in a wheelchair since a climbing accident. I’m cycling, drawing and painting for becoming a basis camp organizing one-week drawing or watercolouring travel diary courses accessibles in wheelchair . For now I’m living alone (with my two kittens) trying to combine my needs and my convictions: low consumption, organic food, few meet but organic, local and raised outdoor, no television (but a huge tissue screen to immerse in movies we choose) etc..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about gardening, do sports cycling in the Cevennes moutains, visit nice surrounding places either cycling with me or by themselves. It will be easy talking french when cycling and picnic with my friends. The mission his both sportive artistic and exploring, ideal for discovering a nice place.

    They will also learn about the challenges and possibilities for a self-sufficient person in a wheelchair which can contribute to the development of everyone's staff.

  • Help

    Help

    Today I need help with small DIY, gardening and work around the house: plant and set up the supports to trellis the kiwis along a wall, accompany me to recover 6 gardening tubs, the bags of soil, unload them and help me set them up, plant shrubs in hedges , and some interior fittings: fixing my door plate, fixing the mailbox, dismantling shelves in my bedroom, repainting my shutters. So I'm looking for someone with good hands who is not afraid of the drill, the sander, the hammer etc...


    At the same time I want to discover about twenty beautiful typical spots that could be painted from a nice viewpoint accessible by car or handbike with space for 6 people drawing. For this I need the help of someone who could cycle with me about 40 km some days and help me or go and ask for help if I fall or have a problem that we cannot solve by ourselves. You can also go kayaking on the Hérault river or on the Mediterranean ponds in the south of Montpellier or elsewhere. You could help me find more accessible places and activities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Helper can sleep in my guest room and share my bathroom. Or if you prefer you can also camp in my big garden. We can share daily meal that I offer and sometimes you can help me cooking. Shopping & domestic maintenance are not asked. I might lend you my car if it’s okay after a try. Otherwise there are buses from the village and I will drive you when you need .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is the first time I'm receiving workawayers. I love visiting foreign countries with friends and also discovering mine own place because during the confinement I realized that as says Christian Bobin, “The end of the world and the end of the garden are home to the same amount of wonders ”

    Surrounding is a typical landscape from south with plenty of well-known marvels you could discover, freely or half prize if you company me: among other things, visits to the “Pont du gard”, the bamboo grove of Anduze, the silk museum which describes this historic activity in the area, hikes on the Pic Saint Lou by foot on horseback or in a glider, beautiful villages like Sauve, Saint Guillem le désert, La Couvertoirade, tastings in the many wine cellars, canoeing – kayaking on the river Hérault, visit to the Millau viaduct or walks on the Larzac, a famous plateau for its pacifist struggle cradle of the French anti-globalization movements.

    Hope meet you soon!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    for now we can organize a table in the dining room. Internet connexion is excellent, it will be free and unlimited

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 342334562446