Help us get on top of things like animal care and the house /gardens in Christchurch, New Zealand.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 440 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    96  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, we are Nico & Pien, a young at heart middle aged couple.
    22 years ago we emigrated from The Netherlands to New Zealand together with our 2 sons.
    We live on a 50 acre farmlet about 45 km North West of Christchurch, together with 8 sheep, Sam the dog, 3 cats and a few chickens.
    Most of the land is leased out these days but the house and gardens are a constant labour of love, as well as the vege garden, lots of fruit and nut trees, that need pruning, trimming and so on.
    We grow 2500 Paeonies which need desbudding in October and cutting in November.
    We both work part time in the hospital.
    Workawayers are welcome to stay up to around 7 days

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to hear from you if you like a challenge, have a good sense of humor and is willing to help us with gettting on top of things like gardening, weeding, cleaning . There is never a dull moment on our farmlet. The vege garden needs constant attention, trees trimming, cleaning the grounds from fallen branches, bonfires , fire wood stacking. It would be nice if some one else can cook a meal at times, or do some home baking.
    In exchange for helping us we provide you with accomodation and the meals .
    Think of fresh eggs and veges and the quiet peace full surroundings .
    Please note we like to see a face when we are corresponding and also a profile.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have 1 spare bedroom available with 2 single beds. Unless you want to put up a tent in the fruit garden.......

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live North West from Christchurch in a small township. Please be aware there is no public transport here. The nearest shops are 11km, or 18km away.
    There is a petrol station 5 km from us. It is only a good hour to Mount Hutt if you like skiing / snowboarding in winter. There are nice tramping routes in Oxford (11 km away). Hamner Springs might be a nice day trip as well. It is very nice quiet and relaxing (most of the times).
    If needed we will pick you up and drop you off in Christchurch

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days

Hisako from Japan. One of her favourite moments, feeding a petlamb July 2019
Best Friends Forever, Tess from Germany and Sam having a private conversation. April 2019
Caroline & Max from Germany dismantled,cleaned and putting the conservatory back together on a surprise stay. Nov 2018
Maike from Germany having a cuddle with some chicks, Nov 2018
Kenny from Taiwan giving a wee lamb a cuddle. Sept 2018
Great helping hands from Leonie & Paula from Germany and J from South Korea.paeony season November 2017
Carlijn from the Netherlands, a knight in shining armour at start of Paeonie season November 2017
Louise from Denmark filling her days with desbudding Paeonies. Oct/November 2017
Marie & Lorena from Germany preparing breakfast for the calves. September 2017
Audran from France doing his best with his tinkering skills. August 2017
Nayeong & Dong-uk from South Korea on their way with a bucket of milk to feed Lulu. March 2017
French team Charles & Tiffany giving the garage door a new life. February 2017
Lou and Damien from France making sure the nesting box is comfy to lay eggs. January 2017
The A team from Germany still smiling after a cutting 3500 Paeonies. Nov 2016

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























































Host ref number: 335849178532