Back to basics living in the mountains of Almeria, Andalucía, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    345

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all, we live in the south of Spain (Almeria) in the mountains around 30 minutes from a town. Our house is old and is always needing improvements and general maintenance. We have around 3.5 hectors of land which is in need of maintaining and developing. We also run a kennels and try to help foster and rehome dogs.

    Our aim is to be more self sufficient, ie veggie gardens as well as maintenance on the house and especially the roof as this myth of "the rain in Spain stays mainly on the plane" is just that, a myth as when it rains it pours therefore we always have our saucepans and buckets at the ready for the leaky roof.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living and learning to live in a totally different environment on the side of a mountain and learning the things that really matter.

    Where we live is like no other place I know of. The house is basic and our way of living is too. When we have visitors they are always amazed at how incredible our family work together, as it is hard work, however its not the lands or the place that makes it incredible I know its the family that is amazing.

    You will be welcomed into the family as everyone always is. We love to meet new people.

  • Help

    Help

    Making the roof secure and water tight, general land maintenance, general house maintenance. Living far away from civilisation our plan is to become more self sufficient, so we would love any suggestions and expert knowledge of how we can can do this.

    We have many almond and olive trees which depending on the time of year need to be harvested.
    As I have mentioned we have only 30 animals which are always in need of new houses.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Tent, teepee, house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    To be honest there isn't alot round the area. The wildlife is amazing. We have horses to ride amount 30+ other animals to play with.
    The beach of mojacar is around 45 minute drive where we live to walk our dogs and chill.
    There are always local fiestas to get out and see.
    Every day of the week there are different local spanish markets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 335587828746