Help in the center of the small (but thriving) market town of Ribérac in the Dordogne, France.

Country

France

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    57

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi future friends! My twin daughters (13 yrs old), little dog & I have recently moved into a lovely building in the center of the small (but thriving) market town of Ribérac in the Dordogne, France.

    We are vegetarian, I am gluten-free & can cater for vegan/dairy-free diets. We live in a stunning area of France, close to the Charente/Dordogne border, and summer is arguably the best time of year to come and see it. The weather is HOT but there are lots of rivers and lakes nearby to cool off in and there are plenty of concerts and other events going on in the evenings. The scenery & architecture around us is stunning. There are many café's & places to visit with castles, churches & history at every turn! It is a favourite tourist region for holiday makers.There are weekly markets in Riberac & near-by towns all year round.

    We are English speaking but are learning French & have French family members & friends who live with us or very nearby, all the other lovely folk working here are french so there is plenty of daily opportunities to practise your language skills in both french and english! There is electricity, plumbing & fast wifi here already in half of our house, but need help to complete building work & upgrade the other half to expand our living space which will in turn create more available space for the association to use- this is what I need help with!! The accomodation I'm offering is a bit rustic (it is in the countryside in the South of France after all!) so it might be a bit of a shock for city-dwellers!

    We are a light-hearted, open family who enjoy company, playing games, cooking, eating, meditating, walking, celebrating & being! We will welcome people from anywhere & offer a special experience living with us & joining in, to whatever extent, with our lives & projects!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a small, rural french town is like going back in time!! It is peaceful, romantic, soulful! There are many,many incredible sights to see & places to visit nearby. The local community is friendly & welcoming. You can practice any level of French or English language here.

  • Help

    Help

    Mostly I need someone who is good at general building work- flooring, insulating, wood-work etc. I will need help with plumbing as the work progresses as will need a new bathroom. Digging over & clearing garden to create blank space to re-build & plant up. Nearly all of the work will be physical, so I'm looking for strong, hard-working people.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I can offer a smallish/cosy room on the ground-level immediately (another space will become available as work progresses!) the room can fit 2 singles or 1 double bed, with table & chest of drawers. there is storage space available. This room is on the side of the house which is being done-up at the moment so you would have some privacy. There is both a shower room & bathroom available to share & 2 more toilets. The hot water heats on demand so we don't run out mid-shower!! Workawayers will be welcome to use the house as their home. There is a door you can use to come & go privately. There is plenty of parking if needed & possible use of my car. I cook a big vegetarian meal with gluten-free option & dessert every evening to which you would be most welcome. You would need to be self-sufficient for most breakfasts and lunches though. There are bakeries & supermarkets within walking distance. Free to use kitchen & help with food preparation if liked!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time there is lots to explore locally on foot, bicycle (we can lend), car (use of mine), train (nearest station half hr away). we get together regularly with family & friends for shared meals & evenings to which you will be welcome. You can wander down to a selection of bars, café's & restaurants for French cuisine, conversation & ambiance. There are galleries to visit in nearby Cities along with the incredible architecture & heritage all around. It is possible to swim, canoe & fish in local waters. Rural, beautiful, peaceful, recharging environment for a taste of France. Once people have found this enchanting area of France they just keep coming back!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 334288333115