Help alongside me to create a spiritual retreat in Dolna Beshovitsa, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/07/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I own two houses in north west Bulgaria. One, the Farmhouse is a large four bedroomed property with lots of land, the other, next door is much smaller and that is where I live.
    The two houses, in a very rural part of Bulgaria, are destined to become a spiritual retreat, a peaceful, happy space full of good energy, where eventually, people can come feel the energy, be healed or heal others and build on the energy that surrounds us

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn some basic Bulgarian, there's some kind of festival every other day, fabulous mountains and caves nearby, endless opportunities for walking, bird watching etc., fabulous food, great beer and wine, the local spirit Rakia, and in summer no one needs an excuse to BBQ or have a party.
    The locals will talk to you for hours even though they know you don't understand and everyone tries so hard to help

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment it's mostly building and landscaping. Indoors, carpentry, plastering, decorating, general building. Outdoors, theres fencing to be erected, ground to be cleared and levelled and in the summer endless brushcutting.
    I'm 62 and have the skills but not so much brawn these days.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have one spare double room currently for a single person or a couple, with its own bathroom, in my Cottage. The room shares the ground floor with the bathroom and the kitchen. Kitchen has normal fridge freezer, washing machine and a gas cooker and microwave . Cooking duties could be shared if you're into preparing food and basically 3 meals a day.
    There's a space to build another lovely room in a barn at the Cottage, which will be an initial project, then move into the farmhouse. The more help I have the more help I can get :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the summer months it's usually too hot to work in the afternoons so work tends to be from 06:00 through til about 12:30 or 13:00 then a siesta or time off. The nearest small town Roman, about 5 kilometres away the next is Mezdra, a good sized town with lots of amenities, and Vratsa bigger still with more choice and bigger supermarkets such as Lidl. Many local sites of interest, including archaeological sites, caves, many monuments and everywhere, views to die for. There's always someone heading into one of these towns and I hope eventually to have a second vehicle. Both Mezdra and Roman have a train service to Sofia which takes about 1 1/2 hours and is a magnificent journey for just a few pounds. Also, all the land in Bulgaria is free to roam so unless it's someones garden, you can walk where you like. an excellent alternative in summer is to just sit in the shade and soak in the peace and quiet.....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 333937363688