1 / 5

Help me with small home and garden projects while enjoying outdoors in Finger Lakes, USA



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    I would love to share this heavenly location with others that are able to share their culture and skills with me! I would love to cook together and share stories of our cultural differences over meals, hikes or time around the campfire. Approximately 1 acre of land that I am trying to irradicate invasive plants and plant native in it's place. I'd love to learn more about gardening, since mine doesn't usually do very well. I'd love to learn about different gardening techniques and learn more about different cultures. I like staying active and would love to show you all the wonderful things my area has to offer.

    I am happy to share my kitchen to learn about different foods and recipes. I have many life experiences to share from non-profit management, raising children, animal rescue work, and would love to hear some of your experiences as well. I am interested in learning from Workawayers about their home countries, family, education and career experiences.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Finger Lakes region in New York is a wonderful place to enjoy nature and outdoor activities. Ithaca is a very culturally diverse area and there are so many things to experience locally. I'm very happy to help you with improving your English if that is of interest to you. I am also eager to continue to explore the area and help you do the same.
    I'd love to introduce you to all the wonderful things this area has to offer.

  • Help


    Looking for some help with small home projects, pet care and yardwork. Fixing small things around the home and making the entire property more self efficient and sustainable.

    Someone that is comfortable using a saw, help with snuggling my cats, one dog and random fosters that stay for a few weeks here and there. In the summer months tasks will include some , gardening. Lawnmowing and trimming, clearing some brush overgrowth, helping native plants prosper and getting rid of the invasive plants. Winter months it would be mostly indoor projects and snow removal and animal care. Must be willing to do some cooking and basic cleaning tasks as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd love to learn Spanish and Portuguese

  • Accommodation


    Guests will have either a set of bunk beds or two separate twin beds in one room, shared use of the common kitchen, main bathroom with shower, tub, washer and dryer. Strong internet is available and the ability to use a common office space shared by me and the guest(s). I have some bikes that you are welcome to use and possibly a car for occasional use. The house is situated on a hill and the view from the double swing out front is breathtaking.
    Since the time commitment is very low demand, I'd like to keep all meals a shared responsibility as agreed on by everyone involved. There will be times that I will not be in the home, and it will be yours to enjoy alone, that varies depending on my schedule. Let's talk and decide together what will work for both sides!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house has a lot of animals coming and going, anyone that has an aversion to animals or has animal allergies should probably not plan to stay with me.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a home office that is available to share. Space for one worker at a time.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have a pretty laid back dog, who is pretty accepting of other dogs. I also have cats who are choosy. Big surprise there.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 3 days a week

Host ref number: 333893563728



Help with horses in the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains, California
Come for dog-sitting and explore the area in Dallas, Texas, USA