Live and Workaway with Disabled Dogs in Koh Samui, Thailand

Country

Thailand

Favourited 144 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Sybille from Germany and live on the tropical island Koh Samui in Thailand.
    Since 2011 I have done charity work for the stray dogs of Samui. I'm a Doctor for humans in daily life.
    Over the years, I have taken more and more care about the disabled strays. So I rented a house and brought eight of my disabled hairy patients there. I want to create a better place for them where they are safe, have fun and are well cared for.

    I start this project with a friend, Julia. We both live not far away with our own dogs (me with 4 disabled and 1 puppy; Julia with a lovely Pitbull mix, 1 disabled and 1 puppy ;))
    Some of us will be at the house in the daytime, around 9am to 3pm.

    The house is in a quiet area, Taling Ngam, in the southwest of Samui. A superb beach is not far away. You also can make it by an easy walk.
    Following villages are Nathon, 15 min by car/ motorbike, or Lamai, 20 min. So you need to rent a car or motorbike when you live here.
    In these villages, you also find big supermarkets like Tesco, Makro.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn that every life is worth caring for.
    You will learn with us to do physiotherapy, protect bandages, and water gyms for disabled dogs.
    You will learn to take responsibility for living beings.
    You will stay with fantastic loving furry creatures and meet two ladies with lots of experience of charity work for stray dogs.

  • Help

    Help

    I need a dog lover(s) who is NOT AFRAID of pee and poo and lives with the EIGHT DISABLED DOGS. All dogs are friendly, and they all think they are totally normal. They want to loved and cuddled. But four of them are incontinent, so the floors need to be cleaned many times.
    Your main task is to stay with them, wash them if needed, given their love, play and if you like to make a walk with two of them in their wheelchairs.
    You need to feed them once a day and… clean: pee and poo ;)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Thai: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live with the dogs in the house.
    It is a comfortable house with a big garden, and a wall surrounds it for safety for the animals.
    The house has four rooms (two-bedroom, two living room), two bathrooms, one kitchen (cooking plate, fridge, washing machine), a wonderful big Sala and a terrace. But no TV.
    Everything for life is here. It's just some minutes to a beautiful beach - sunset side.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    All around the island, there are beautiful beaches, sightseeings like Buddhist temple, waterfalls, jungle areas, and also some new actual rescue centre for elephants, according to the Elephant Nature Park in Chiang Mai.
    You will have the unique possibility in the times of Covid to get to know an tropical Island free from overcrowded tourism.

    I cannot offer you a motorbike or car, but all around the island are many places to rent.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week- no food


Host ref number: 331734576594