Come and help in our alternative school in the most beautiful coastal town in Cape Town, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 241 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    617

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Living in the most beautiful, coastal town of the southern tip of Africa. The cape peninsula offers a wide range of opportunities and experiences. We live in a suburb that is surrounded by nature. 5 minutes from the sea and mountains. We live an active life and do many outdoorsy things like hiking, sailing, volleyball, swimming, yoga, movement, massage and much more. My sister and partner are all educators at schools that offer an alternative curriculum. The area we live in is a dream holiday destination. We are local and will provide you with a treasure map of exciting places and people to find along the peninsula.

    Unfortunately, the accommodation is not suitable for staying over the autumn and winter months. Should you find accommodation in the are and still want to volunteer, I would be more than happy to consult with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a local of the area my family was born here. This area is ingrained with myth, legend, history and stories untold. It is hugely diverse as well as completely unique on a cultural level. There are many languages to learn and the way of life is an experience in itself. Absolutely unrivaled!

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a vibrant, innovated, open minded individual who is intrigued by alternative education and social systems. I would need someone who is organized and who is willing to help out a few times a week at my school. My school is alternative and we incorporate elements that are not mainstream, we are mainly interest led and draw on inspiration from waldorf and other alternative systems. Someone who is independent and able to create worksheets/ take notes/ organize and hold space for children ages 11- 14. I would also like someone who is eager to establish a food garden, and who would be eager to paint some murals and also potentially make the accommodation more attractive at this point. This person will need to love dogs and feel at ease with children. We tend to eat consciously and generally don't support fast food and MNC's. This is ultimately an opportunity to learn how education systems work and why There is a need for an alternative in South Africa.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is totally rustic it is a wooden room off the main house (Wendy house) there is space to sleep and have a little workshop to make small things. The bathroom and kitchen is in the main house and you will have access to these amenities at all times. There is a garden and huge veranda with an epic view of the ocean. There is internet access etc. we are already a communal household and we do take turns to make dinner. Breakfast and lunch are things that the individual should sort out for themselves. We tend to shop communally so there will be food available in the house, but otherwise each to their own.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Cape Town is a holiday destination everything natural you could dream of is here to experience. Cultural, historical, visual, musical, fire dancing on local beaches and drumming are not far off our agenda etc- there are thousands of things to do in the area, I am also a great guide with a lot of knowledge of where to go and what to do. You will just have to trust me on this one! We do have respect for each other in the home, there are times when going out and having fun is simply necessary! However it is not a way of life. We are pretty health conscious, but do enjoy good music and a great party so now and then. We are ages 25- 33 so we do entertain and have fabulous dinners on the veranda so now and then. But no real raucous behaviour is tolerated.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 327786819981