Australian Deer Farm, North East Victoria

Country

Australia

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    44

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We previously owned a local business for 25 years. I work one day a week at a winery and my husband works as a prison officer and runs the farm. Our son also lives and assists on the farm and is a lawyer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm stay would be best suited to someone willing to get in and provide a hand around an Australian Farm and for someone who shows an interest in deer husbandry.

  • Help

    Help

    We own a 133-acre farm in the North East Victorian district, Oxley Flats. We farm red deer. We are in the process of expanding our deer farming operation. Our focus is breeding red deer for velvet production and meat processing.

    Our farm stay would be best suited to someone willing to get in and provide a hand around the farm and also possibly someone who shows an interest in deer husbandry.

    At the moment, we are in the process of various tasks. We always have lots of different projects on the go.

    • Fencing
    • General farm work
    • Feeding Deer
    • Help with deer depends on the time of the year. This involves yarding and sorting deer to move into different paddocks, velvet stags, ear mark wearers etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House Accomodation. Own Room with queen size bed with ensuite with own shower and toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our region (North East Victoria) is very scenic. Some suggestions include:

    • Local Wineries- our region is considered one of the greatest in the country for Wine (Brown Brothers)
    • Mount Buffalo National Park
    • Milawa Gourmet Region
    • Australian Snow Resorts are all 1 hour away. (See Falls Creek Ski Resort or Mount Hotham for the best ski fields in Australia)
    • Woolshed Falls, Beechworth.
    • Bright, Victoria.
    • Lots of riding and walking tracks in close proximity (including Mt Buffalo,
    • Fishing/Hunting- our region has public land access to fishing/hunting various species.

    Our property is well-regarded farmland with neighbouring properties including dairy farms, cattle, sheep and wineries. We are the only deer farm in the region. Our property is home to a range of native animals. You could expect to see various animals including kangaroos, echidnas, possums, lizards, snakes, lots of birdlife- varying from a large range of parrots, finches, waterbirds, eagles etc.

    Our Farm does not have public transport access. The nearest major town is a 7-minute drive and is Wangaratta, Victoria (30,000 population). We are happy to drop you and pick you up into town or other areas upon arrangement. We are also 5 minutes from the township of Milawa, Victoria.

    We are happy to provide breakfast, lunch and dinner and arrange an outing in your spare time. We are easy going and would want to make sure you enjoy your experience as much possible, both on the farm and outside of our property. This is best suited to two people as sometimes work is needed to be done alone. It would be best enjoyed with another person.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours per week










Host ref number: 327337379525