Scheduled server update :) The site will be offline for a maximum of about 60 minutes at 12:15 h CET / 19:15 h HKT (current server time: 12:15 CET). Thanks for your patience.   close ×

Join our ecological building project in Flanders, Belgium



Favourited 147 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    Hi everybody! We are looking for some people to join us making fences, preparing the organic garden , doing some renovation work during two weeks in december (december 14 until december 28). We can offer a comfortable bed , good vegetarian food and cosy and warm evenings beside a wood fire. There are a lot of Interesting places to visit in the neighbourhood.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our parents renovated our house with natural materials, so they have a lot of knowledge about eco-renovation work. Together we can learn more about that.

    We have many interests: nature, environment, drawing, painting, handcrafts, spinning wool, felting and knitting, sustainability, traveling, social work, organic farming, permaculture, music, cooking (we are all vegetarians), reading, languages, different cultures,...

    If anyone is interested in learning Dutch, we can teach you. We ourselves would like to improve our French, Spanish, German and Arabic.

    During the previous workaway periods we had good laughs, cosy evenings at the campfire, inspiring conversations,... ;)

  • Help


    -Winter period

    From 14 to 28 december 2018 we are looking for 2volunteers to join our project. Because of the winter we will do rather small jobs like renewing the fences for the animals (goats and sheep) or preparing the organic garden for the next season.

    ----Summer period---

    From the 11th until the 25th of July 2018 we are looking for volunteers to join the project. We'll continue with the renovation work, we don't know yet what exactly we'll be doing by then, but there's always lots of work and of course... lots of fun! We can offer everybody a comfortable bed or a place in the cosy Tipi in the garden. In these nice summer evenings we can have a campfire in the garden, we can make an evening walk together and in your free time there will be plenty of options to explore the area!

    Looking forward meeting you!

    We live in a beautiful, renovated farm house in a rural village in Belgium. It's a big house with a lot of cosy rooms and a big garden with sheep, goats, chickens, a cat, fruit trees and a vegetable garden. Two years ago we bought a really old farm house 2 kilometers from our house. It needs a lot of demolishing and construction work but we believe it will become a beautiful place.

    A few times a year we organize a workaway period where we invite some workawayers at the same time. In this way we meet people from many different countries. There is no experience required, together we can always find some nice work that will fit your interests, we can all learn from one another.

    We are a family of six. Guido (57), Nadine (52), Lene (26), Eli (25), Riene (23) and Wout (20). We will not always be home all of us, but it will be fun anyway ;)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have a big farm house with several free beds. But if we are many we can always put a tent (or tipi) in the garden (in summer). You can bring your own tent, but it's not necessary.

    You can use the bathroom and shower. We can cook and eat all together.

    You can use one of our bikes to explore the area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your freetime you can discover the area, we have some bikes that you can use to make biketrips. We live in the fruitarea of Belgium, so there are apple and pear orchards everywhere.

    By train or bus you are very quickly in different cities: Maastricht (30min), Hasselt (12min), Leuven (60min), Brussels (1h30min), Ghent (2h30min), etc. There is a cheap train ticket called 'go pass 1' which costs 6,20 euros to go from one place to another inside Belgium (under the age of 26), so keep this in mind and don't buy the normal, expensive ticket.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The house where we live in
View on the fields
The house we are renovating

Host ref number: 324277579385