1 / 5

Give our community a helping hand and explore the unique village of Kilpisjärvi, Finland

  • Favourited 58 times
  • Last activity: 18 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a community with two families living in one big house. We have two toddlers and two dogs. We are living in up Finland´s Lapland in Kilpisjärvi. Kilpisjärvi is small village with 120 inhabitants. Mainly we have tourism here because of our unique nature. Nature exploring is here best what you can do and enjoy the silence of it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our small village in Finnish Lapland is unique in its nature and culture. Here you are able to take contact with living Finnish Lappish countryside. You can take part in Finnish culture and how we combine Sami people living in Kilpisjärvi. You are able to learn how to live near nature, how it´s present every day, and see how seasons (if you stay longer with us) change in the fell side. Kilpisjärvi is the perfect place for hiking, fishing, and relaxing. Here you can learn to live day by day and forget a calendar-based hour-by-hour lifestyle. If you want to find the connection to your inner self and learn to listen to yourself better, many have said that this is the place for it.
    We are living in a big commune house so we are present with you every day. We are quite a relaxed family with two toddlers so there is some action in the house for sure. Most of us work in the family business and we work either from the house or around our accommodation company. We would like to share with you our culture, cooking, and living ways near the Northern nature.
    We hope that we are learning parts of your culture and that our toddlers get to know multicultural ways from the start. We are also really passionate to explore different food cultures.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are living in community in high up Finland Lapland in Kilpisjärvi. We are looking for an extra hand to help our daily routine with our two toddlers and two dogs. Cleaning, walking with dogs, food making and babysitting. We have also some bigger tasks waiting, like organizing our garage.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in our community. We live in three floors house, one family at the top floor and one family at the ground floor. There would be a room at the floor one available. There is shared toilet in the middle floor with a shower. We hope that we are able to exchange recipes and cook together or change a bit the days that who would be cooking. We are taking care of the main supplements for food with this exchange and we can talk then further about how would be best to organize the rest.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here it´s perfect to go around in nature and explore it as it´s winter appearance. You are able to travel nearby villages easiest with own car. There is also one bus line going south once a day towards Rovaniemi and after the December also one bus line to north towards Norway and Tromso.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two dogs but if all pets are getting along well we are welcoming them.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 322784532529

Feedback (1)


Photos

Feedback



Help me develop my artist studio-home project in Åminnefors, Finland
Help our family and join in with hobbies and activities in Nastola, Finland