Help out on our land in a beautiful part of Uruguay, in Santa Isabel de La Pedrera

  • Favourited 473 times
  • Last activity: 14 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are two friends (German/Dutch) who came to Uruguay to live in nature to create and enjoy a healthier lifestyle. We have a 4000qm property in the middle of a pine forest with two small houses on it. It is located in Santa Isabel de La Pedrera, which is 4 km more north of La Pedrera. We have a big organic garden and grow most of our own vegetables. Our 16 chickens are truly free range and roam even in the forest for food. They provide us with the best eggs you can get. We have also 3 horses, 4 dogs and 2 cats. We are close to the most stunning beaches of Uruguay, from our house it is a 10 minute walk through the forest to the beach. If you like to explore this part of Uruguays coast, it’s easy to get to Cabo Polonio (32 km), Valizas or the other way to La Pedrera and La Paloma. We live in one of the most attractive tourist spots and during the season there is a lot going on with visitors from neighboring countries and overseas. At a place like ours, there is always lots to do to keep it up nicely. This is one reason why we are looking for help but also we enjoy very much to have visitors and get to know more people who are interested in this way of living, having good exchanges and making new friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Be in contact with nature, learn gardening and caring for animals, learn healthy cooking, preserving vegetables etc.

  • Help


    We like help in the daily maintenance we have here, like cleaning, gardening, painting, taking care of our animals, may be horse training, small building projects. It also would be nice to have help with cooking dinner once in a while.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a nice small cabana in the back of our house which houses a single person and the bathroom will be shared in our house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are close to Cabo Polonio and all the other northern beach towns with its endless beautiful clean beaches. You can go for a weekend to Punta Diabolo or Punta del Este or to the Sierras of Rocha. There are possibilities to surf or horseback riding. The bus connections are pretty good from La Paloma in all directions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 319726628634

Feedback (13)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help in community habitat in Barra de Valizas, Rocha, Uruguay
Come and help us with building, painting, gardening and other tasks in La Paloma, Uruguay