Help at my large farmhouse in Northern Tuscany, Italy with stunning views and amazing night skies

Country

Italy

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    194

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a friendly, travel loving English/Italian and have a large farmhouse in Northern Tuscany with stunning views and amazing night skies with no light pollution. The stone house has been renovated with all mod cons, swimming pool and 4 acres of terraced land including olive and fruit trees and a few chickens. The nearest town is within walking distance just 1km away with shops, banks, pizzerias, bars, sports facilities and buses to the main travel hubs locally. The owner enjoys cooking, meals and drinks will be provided naturally. I speak English, Italian and French and are fully integrated into local Italian village life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Weekends are free to explore the amazing coast, mountains and major cultural attractions within easy reach of the house by train or bus - I can transport you to the station if necessary. Work may be challenging at times but fun and chilled. I would want you to have the opportunity to experience and enjoy local life and culture, to mingle and relax if you wish with my Italian friends, learn some Italian and understand what life in rural, non touristy Tuscany is like. The house is set in a superbly tranquil location with amazing views and wildlife - a worker's paradise.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for workawayers to help me with the following:-

    Chopping and stacking wood (knowledge and use of axe and chainsaw necessary)

    Clearing undergrowth and bamboo in a small woodland

    Keeping grass on terraces (some quite steeply terraced) under control using strimmers/rotary blade

    Vegetable gardening and some flower borders need

    Stripping and varnishing of window frames and remaking some external shutters (carpentry knowledge required)

    Help constructing and planting a rockery.

    Summerhouse and garage require an external coat of paint.

    For poor weather days clearing out and/or organising existing outbuildings. Internal plaster repair and painting of house.

    Hours expected around 5 hours per day, 5 days per week

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian, French, a little Arabic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I am able to offer a large bedroom with king bed and/or a bedroom with a single bed and full sized bunk beds. The two rooms share a bathroom. There is a separate external access from the rear of the house. Full board is provided which may include visiting the local eating places in the town and also enjoying an aperitivo, coffee or ice cream with friends. Some help prepping for meals, setting the table and clearing the kitchen appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Weekends and afternoons are free to explore the coast, mountains and major attractions within easy reach of the house. Examples include the Cinque Terre world heritage site 45 mins away, Pisa, Lucca, Parma, Bologna, Milan and Florence. There are many local hiking trails as we are in the Appenine foothills, river swimming and beaches. I have been associated with the area for some time so have many suggestions to offer. I am always ready to take on a new challenge and having travelled and lived in a few different countries, mainly in the Middle East, i already have plenty of experiences to share and discuss with new friends.
    I have a relaxed lifestyle but expect our visitors to respect my home and possessions. In the summer months i get up reasonably early to get our jobs done before the heat gets too much and may then use the pool or relax under the portico for the afternoon.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our 'girlies'!
View from our house, morning mist over the valley
We have stunning sunsets
Access to the house and the olive grove
The house from the road
The extensive veg patch





Host ref number: 316524865345