Volunteer out our lovley home just north of Brisbane, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 330 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    94  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    166

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are fortunate to live at a beautiful 1.5 acre property 30 min north of Brisbane. Our lovely home is spacious with 5 bedrooms so you will have your own private room.
    Richard and I have for many years been living the most sustainable principles we possibly can.
    We are regenerating the native bush land and planting native Australian grasses, trees and plants.
    We are establishing an organic vege garden and orchard.
    We are renovating our house and we have outside building and landscaping projects. We choose recycled timber and building products most of the time.
    We have installed a pool and heated spa. Which is great summer or winter.
    There are many locations close by for bushwalking with rainforests and waterfalls.
    We are located close to the city, but far away from the hustle and bustle.
    We both work, although I only work part time as a neonatal intensive care nurse. Richard works full time as a CFO for an importing company.
    We used to own a restaurant so we love to cook and eat good healthy food and entertain guests.
    The climate here is subtropical. Between August and May the temperature reaches 30-35 deg most days. June and July the temperature reaches 20-25 deg.
    We really don’t have a winter, but we pretend to, and we have a bon fire and BBQ on Saturday evening and warm the house with a wood fire.
    A couple of times a month we visit our son and his family who live an hour away on the Sunshine Coast at Caloundra, which has stunningly pristine beaches. Our workaways have accompanied me for day trips and over night stays. And have fallen in love with our beautiful grandchildren Beau and Lulu.
    We have travelled extensively and love meeting people from all walks of life.
    We are both avid music fans! 🤩

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There are kangaroos, wallabies and koalas in our area. There is a multitude of native bird life. Kookaburras, cockatoos, galahs, parrots and lorikeets to name a few.
    We are in the process of establishing a rehabilitation rescue refugee for injured wildlife.
    We have enjoyed many fantastic meals and wine with our WorkAways. It has been a wonderful experience cooking for people from other cultures and also having them cook for us and enjoying and learning many different countries cuisine.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening is my passion and I love teaching people. So I shall explain what needs to be done and why.
    We would love it if our guests enjoy gardening as much as we do.
    We have a tractor for all the heavy lifting and digging.
    It will be mostly planting small tube stock, mulching, fertilising and watering. We also have a ride on mower with a grass catcher for the lawns.
    If you are into natural landscape design we have so many ideas and plans we wish to achieve.
    Richard loves constructing things with recycled timber for indoors and out. We have many building and renovating projects if you have construction skills.
    We also love the idea of incorporating art into our environment and I have a passion for using natural materials in art works.
    We would love to host Workaways for long term, 6 weeks plus. But we have hosted Workaways from 10 days plus and that is gr8 too. 🤗

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    5 bedroom 2 bathroom home on 1.5 acres.
    You will have your own bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our train station is 20 minutes from Brisbane CBD and 10 minutes from our house by car. Depending on when you arrive I can collect you from the station or from where you are in Brisbane.
    If you arive before 4pm Monday-Friday at Brisbane airport Richard can pick you up as he works next to the airport.
    There are many beautiful places in and around Brisbane. Our Workaways often hire a car, which is relatively inexpensive, for a couple of days in their time off and stay at the beach or the Glasshouse Mountains, which are about an hour away.
    We are happy to drive guests to the station anytime. And we have push bikes that are available for you to use.
    The Samford Valley is close by and is surrounded by beautiful mountains with bushwalking through the rainforests and swimming at the waterfalls.
    Brisbane is a 30 minute drive and has many concerts, night clubs and local and international performers.
    We are very flexible and if there is a concert or festival that our guests would like to attend we will endeavour to ensure transport for them to attend. And maybe to attend with you.
    There are so many fantastic markets around our area on both Saturdays and Sundays. You can purchase anything... organic veges, fruit and herbs from the farms, cheeses, clothing, antiques.........
    There is a fantastic international food market nearby on Saturday mornings where we sometimes go for brekky.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Workaway bedroom
Workaway bedroom
A day out to the markets at Redcliffe.
Christin having fun on a visit to the Sunshine Coast.
Christin is a WorkAway who stayed with us for 3 weeks. She enjoyed using our bike to explore the area.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























































Host ref number: 316331318729