Help out on a farm in a family friendly environment in an amazing geographical and cultural area , in Risarslda, Colombia



Favourited 580 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi Guys

    I'm Mauro, i'm 35 years old and i'm and architect.

    We are a family Farm. In the coffee area of Colombia, about and hour by car from the city of Pereira and about 15 min from Balboa ( a little old coffee town )
    at the moment we are farming coffee, plantain, corn, beans, yuca, bamboo and various fruits and medicinal herbs
    we do all the farm process in the more organic way we can, moving towards our goal of been an 100% organic farm as soon as possible, we are also building our own infrastructure using Eco- friendly building materials and methods
    such as bamboo,recyclable paper, wood and earth.

    We are a little family operation, there is my dad who lives in the farm has been growing things for ages, my uncle who is also an architect and is always figuring out how to build things and there is me the one who is learning and trying to help .

    So if you come and pass some time working with us you will be in a family friendly environment at the middle of an amazing geographical and cultural area , landscape here is UNESCO world heritage list.

    The farm is about an hour from Pereira international Airport . I'm based in Pereira but i go to work at the farm twice per week, so i will pick you up and take you to the farm and back to Pereira.

    We like what we do, we have learn somethings in this process and we are happy to teach anyone but mostly we are really willing to learn from every one, we are farmers , builders and travelers that will be happy to work with you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help


    There is plenty of things to do, as we say there is always lots of work in a farm.
    you can :

    - cook for one to 10 people
    - house farm cleaning
    - gardening
    -milk cows
    -cut grass (there is a machine you just have to feed it ) to make cow food
    -prepare compost
    -collect or plant , coffee or fruits, or anything if you get in the season
    -we have lots of construction work so if you are and skilled worker that will be great but if not, there is always something you can do

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    we have one rooms with beds for the volunteers , so , you may share your room with up to 2 another volunteers
    and there is also a hammock place when you can sleep if you please
    there is a normal toilet ans shower room that we all share and a kitchen with usual facilities.
    we eat lots of stuff so you will be able to have something good for your appetites only if is complicated you may have to prepare it yourself but otherwise we all share the same food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    at the moment we can take 3 or 4 volunteers , ill peak you up in Pereira or guide to come to my house and there ill take you to the farm.
    we have had good experiences working with volunteers using other volunteering sites
    and after visiting the farm they stayed for some time

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 314241857179