Help us at our small farm in the cosy mountain valley of Edsåsdalen, Sweden



Favourited 145 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Our names are Gerda and Janne. We are the proud owners of a small farm in the cosy mountain valley of Edsåsdalen, located about 18 kilometers from Sweden’s foremost skiing hotspot Åre.
    Gerda is a social pedagogic and Janne is a musician. We are both engaged in helping to integrate refugees (teaching swedish, looking for apartments...).

    We set value on an ecological lifestyle (food, recycling, solar energy, animal care).
    We run the farm on a rather small scale, keeping three mountain cows along with 3 calves, a few goats, a band of bossy geese, some ducks, chickens, two lovely dogs, two cats and last but not least two turtles. Apart from the animals we also grow some vegetables both in the field and in a greenhouse. Working with varying projects to improve and renovate the different buildings on the farm is something that always keeps us busy. We started to rebuild the old living quarters of the farmhouse and renovate the stables.

    We are social people and on almost any given day we have guests and visitors from all over the world or just next door. Due to this we have expanded our bed capacity by placing two portable cabins next to the house. We also run a family support home for children and youths of different ages.
    If you are interested in visiting us, you should have good moral standards and be respectful to all people and animals you'll be in touch with.

    We wouldn't like to have smokers here, because of the kids and the smell.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will meet people from different countries and will have to do different jobs

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    gardening, animal care, homework with children, help in the house, painting building, cooking, playing with children, skiing,

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    small potable cabines for your own or in our house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village of Edsåsdalen offers a few ski-slopes and amazing opportunities for cross country skiing. In the summer the surrounding mountains and highlands are ideal for anyone who likes to hike, fish, or go canoeing in the many lakes and streams. We also have bicycles available for loan for trips in the village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs are welcome if they like other dogs.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 311172981368