Help us with my permaculture project in the Frasnez-lez-Anvaing, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Stijn,36 years,my wife is Akiko (Japanese) 39 and my daughter Alma over 1 years old now. .Since 7 years ago I've proceeded a permaculture project on a piece of land(less than 2 ha)with hill and forest in west of Belgium.I call this land 'jungle hill' .Because thousand of world plants,trees and bushes live here.Close by jungle hill I have a house with a big garden.I built a green house in the garden.Now hundreds of trees,various vegitables & fruits grow up in this garden and green house.
    I'm working at a national facility.So it's only possible to care my plants only on weekends or when i take a day off.Sometimes my friends and volunteers help me keep,protect and increase plants in jungle hill.But usually i'm doing these works almost alone.Of cource it's not possible to proceed this project alone.So now bramble and nettle dominate everywhere.
    I really need volunteers who meet these requirements.

    ・have experience of working on permaculture projects, gardening
    ・not lazy at work by yourself
    ・love to live with nature
    . have experience of babycare


    And if you fall under any of the following,my place is paradise!

    ・person who is interested in plants
    I have considerable amount of knowledge about world edible & usefull plants and have been grown tens of thousands of the types in my life.Charcteristic,how to grow,edible or not...etc,i'll be happy to tell you what you want to know.

    ・vegan,vegetarian
    You can pick and eat hundreds of types of fruit,nut seasonally.Apple,pear,kiwi,berry,plum,cherry,nashi,kaki,peach,walnut,pistachio,hazelnut...etc.
    You can also collect and cook seasonal vegetables,herbs,tubers and roots,beans,grains.

    ・person who loves tree and forest
    Here in belgium every year many many trees have been chopped down and the forests rapily shrinking year by year.I've already planted thousands of trees here.Still thousands of trees in pots are waiting to be planted and a thousand trees need you to water.Now in belgium it's extreamly dry once in 50 years.So it's urgent.Otherwise they all die.

    There is an old train wagon you can chill out or sleep at night in jungle hill. it's waterproof! I'm planning reconstruction of this wagon by roofing and painting.There is a lot's of work here besides gardening.If you like these tasks,you can enioy stay here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn
    -how to plant trees and vegetables
    -method of potting
    -how to protect trees and vegetables
    -how to cook japanese food

  • Help

    Help

    ・planting
    ・weeding
    ・watering
    ・mowing
    ・digging water source
    ・protecting trees and vegitables from animals
    ・cutting woods
    ・collecting fire woods
    ・potting
    ・roofing wagon
    ・painting wagon
    . when we are not here you are self responsable for cooking for you and all guests, and for the baby
    . babysitting

    I can work with you and stay in my house only on weekends or when i take day off.So i'd like to fix rough schedule for next week based on the discussion with you on every sunday.
    This is time table for work.It's flexible depend on weather and your physical condition.
    note! to babycare depends on our timeschedules
    9:00-12:00
    15:00-17:00

    We ask you to stay at least for 10 days.

  • Languages spoken

    Bulgarian: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can sleep on a couch or in your sleeping bag in wagon .Also you can sleep in your tent somewhere in jungle hill.You can cook by making fire next to wagon.There is an eco-toilet close by wagon. if we ask u to help with babycare,you can sleep in our guestroom we have a guest room with 2 beds .

    Sometimes we can cook together in my kitchen and you can use washing machine and shower.Note that my house is not hotel.I ask you to keep the rules.
    ・clean toilet and shower after use
    ・do the dishes after meal by turns
    ・save water in the shower,from the sink.we can use fixed amount of hot water every day
    ・don't smoke in house

    there is poor and slow internet, so also limited wifi connexion.. 'm a vegetarian.So normaly meat is not prepared.
    I'd like you to enjoy primitive life in nature.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Residents in the village where i live speak french. It takes 45 minutes from my house to the center of the village where i live by walk.In the center there are a few banks,a post office,a pharmacy,3 supermarkets,2 bakeries,2 hairdressing salons,some restaurants,etc.
    From center to 2 neighboring cities(Ronse and Ath) the buses are operated 5-7 times every day except sunday.Brussels is 40 minutes by train from Ath.Ghent is 45 minutes by train from Ronse.

    My house is next to cycling road.Many cyclists pass on weekends and holidays.In your free time I lend my mountain bike if you want.

    You can come to Ronse or Ath by train,then I'll pick up you at the station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 296939476256