Help on our farm and learn about ecology and environmental sciences, in Norway close to Trondheim

Country

Norway

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE:
    - Open for applications from January 2020 on -

    Are you handy, able and not fear physical work?
    Do you have experience with CARPENTRY and TINKERING or maybe plumbing? or GARDENING and HORSEMANSHIP? Maybe NUTRITION? what about MARKETING, WEB DESIGN, PHOTOGRAPHING or VIDEO SHOOTING?

    We'd like to invite you to live and learn with us, share your ideas, knowledge and energy!

    Next, during the autumn 2019 and winter 2020: we’ll work to finish renovation of our bakery, a horse shelter repair, bathroom and roof isolation renovations, as well as getting the garden ready for the winter. We’ll also start to produce baked products from the farm.

    * * *

    Hello! Welcome to our profile!
    We are a young couple, one from Slovakia and the other from Norway both with a degree in ecology. We are also freshly started farmers and start-up-bakery owners:
    We bought a farm in the valley of Ingdal, close to Trondheim, in January 2019.

    The farm is our concretized dream of a home, a sustainable and ethical community, from where to contribute to happier and healthier lives and society. We want to make a change and inspire people: to change to way we think, work, grow our food, eat...to avoid damaging consequences for the environment and us. We for example barely buy food from the grocery but instead get it donated (out-of-date or a little damaged products from the stores), pick it from the garden or forage it. All in all we always try to use those resources we already have in the best possible way - and creativity is a resource free of charge! ;-)
    We also continuously experiment and learn about sustainable gardening methods and food production.

    Currently our main focus is within producing good quality food, as our gluten-free bread (we have been running an alternative bakery since autumn 2018). And the idea is to expand the range of products to vegetables from our garden, fermented foods, herbs and wild plants, not only for our own use but for sale as well.

    This is also a center for education and personal growth meaning that we willingly open our doors to host ecological and educational events and workshops. We believe that knowledge and education leads to understanding and responsibility for one’s actions and impact on environment. The summer 2019 we organized our first weekend festival with workshops led by professionals focusing on wild plant harvesting and cooking, as well as growing perennials in the forest garden. The next event will take place this autumn 2019, an introduction course on fermenting.

    We wish to provide a place to live and to work for something meaningful, and therefore we have a changing amount of people living here with us. We are looking forward to meeting you who share the same core values, are ready to throw yourself into a project or two with an open and engaged mind, as responsible as it was for yourself. No matter your background or expertise, we appreciate seeing you enjoying and driven. We have now hosted over 30 volunteers via different volunteering platforms and enjoyed seeing people from all over the world forming a warm, family-kind-of community working together. At our house you’ll taste delicious zero-budget meals, hear laughters and delightful music and singalong...

    The main building is quite big with several bedrooms and two bathrooms. Our bakery will be relocated to the basement in the nearest future. We also have a big barn, mainly used for our horses and storing hay. Right now we have here our sweet dog Pippi, two horses Rigel and Lea, plus seven loud chickens led by a young rooster Pouletto. We sincerely want to provide a shelter, love and care for animals that need it.

    Join us by the beautiful Trondheim Fjord to spend the days on the farm and its surroundings, enjoying the company of charming people and animals!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both have background in ecology and environmental science and we have been testing out permacultural methods now for two seasons. We have also a lot of knowledge about health and proper nutrition, biology and chemistry.
    Probably you will experience and learn however that we have no right answers; we are keen on finding out things, studying, experimenting and sometimes debating :-)

    A fun way to learn is often through belly: beside our bread we have been keen on testing out different healthy self-made treats like coconut yogurt, kombucha, butter, dandelion honey and syrup, spruce sprout honey, ginger beer, sauer kraut and similar, plenty of different naturally sweetened jams...

    Other than the knowledge side, we open our doors and hearts to make people feel welcome and a part of the community. You'll be given responsibilities and own projects to carry out. We trust people to take initiative and figure out solutions themselves, too, and thus master and enjoy their stay even more. Feel welcome to step into our yard and house and give us some good ideas!

  • Help

    Help

    We will need help with different projects in 2019 and 2020: bathroom reconstruction, floor building and setting up isolation, maintenance and small repairs, designing a large-scale vegetable garden, general garden work, animal care, training the horses, building up a greenhouse...

    The tasks are mainly simple and easy to accomplish. We don't require professional skills or experience, rather sincere willingness to learn and contribute for the growth and well-being of the community. Nevertheless, it is always fun to get to know if you happen to have some special skills or expertise!

    We organize the daily routines around a weekly task-rotation-system and expect everyone to join cooking (common meals), cleaning and general maintenance.

    Here are some principles that we value in the house:

    1. We respect each other and the nature.
    2. We recycle waste.
    3. No smoking/drugs/ excessive alcohol is tolerated.
    4. 100% honesty - key to trust and ethics
    5. We have common dinners.
    6. It is expected that you work five days a week in exchange for food and accommodation. We are more oriented by projects, rather than the amount of hours though.
    7. We will have a trip once a week to a nice place together.
    8. We can't pick you up at the airport/elsewhere in Trondheim, but instruction on how to get to nearest the ferry dock in Lensvik.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Norwegian, Slovak

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer a separate room for single travelers or 2-3 people travelling together, in the house with 6 bedrooms. In the high season you might share your room with another helper(s). There are two bathrooms and toilets available.
    We hosts accommodate in the same house and share the common living areas with our helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our land is about 90 hectares. The landscape around the farm is forest, fields, mountains and hills, many small trails and peaceful roads. There're rivers, lakes, a small waterfall and sea nearby. A perfect surroundings for exploring and experience the Nordic nature by hiking, fishing, camping, swimming, horseback riding, spotting deers and moose and watching the sun setting over the fjord… To go a little extreme, it is possible to do scuba diving and nearby there's one of the biggest indoor climbing centers in Norway.

    The farm is located approximately 1-hour-drive by car or 35-min-drive by ferry from our favorite city Trondheim, so you can easily go for a day trip to the city. Trondheim is charming in many ways with its lively city center, culture life and events. There is a river flowing through the middle of the town with old, wooden colorful houses built along the sides, small paved streets with cozy cafes, nice parks and old cathedral.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25h/week, five days a week

Host ref number: 294283625294