1 / 4

Be part of our family and help with gardening, house maintenance and building in the seaside of Dunedin, New Zealand

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Kia ora

    Our family is myself, my partner Ryan, our 6 and 3 year old boys and our little tabby cat and we live overlooking the harbour on the beautiful Otago Peninsula. We enjoy getting out and exploring the outdoors through kayaking, biking and hiking, cooking delicious food at home, socialising with friends and Ryan loves to play the guitar. The Otago peninsula is home to some awesome landscapes and wildlife including sea lions, seals, penguins and albatross. Dunedin city is about a 25 minute drive away, by car or bus and there is also a cycle track from our house into the city which takes about 1 hour to cycle.

    Hayley works full time at Otago Polytechnic as a culinary arts lecturer, and Ryan works with GIS part-time from home, while also sorting out the kids with kindergarten/school for the boys and the home life side of things. We enjoy keeping our weekends relatively free to hang out, work on the house and get outside exploring with the boys .

    We have lived in our home for only a few years - our house is a renovated and extended cottage and the original was one of the first houses in the area, so it is lovely and charming. We look over the harbour and Portobello village, which is a real treat.

    We have been doing workaway and helpx for a few years, and have made some awesome life-long friends this way. We love hosting people and hearing stories about their home countries, travels and things they have learnt.

    Looking forward to hearing from you :)

    Hayley and Ryan

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Would love you to be a part of our wee family for roughly a week long stay. We would love to share food with you, and if you would like to cook some meals too we would love to experience that. We are trying to use more te reo Maori in our everyday conversation with the boys so it would be nice to share what we know too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need a bit of help around the house and garden - general weeding and gardening, hedge trimming, water blasting, house cleaning. We would also ask you to please help with general day-to-day tasks such as cooking, tidying up and cleaning up after meals.

    We could consider extending the length of your stay too if it worked out.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your room would be a cabin separate to the house, but you will share living spaces, bathroom, kitchen etc with us. Of course we can provide meals and food (I'm a trained cook so food will hopefully be delicious! If you would like to cook too though just let me know), showers, wifi etc all included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can tell you about the great sights and things to do around Dunedin, as well as some good off the beaten track walks, beaches etc. And you will have a lot of free time during the day to explore! We have sea kayaks and bikes you could borrow to explore the harbour and area around Portobello too.There are two roads out to Portobello which is easily accessed by car, and there is also a bus to/from town with a stop just down the road from us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You would be welcome to use the dining table as a work space, or alternatively if you need more privacy we could set you up in another little hut we have. We have unlimited wifi, with a wifi extender so internet access on the property shouldn't be a problem.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Any size camper is fine, but we only have off street parking. Valuables could be safely stored on our property if you wished, as your room is lockable and you would have the key for it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 293138344453

Photos

Feedback

Homestay with an international family in Ashburton, New Zealand
Help with orchard work, farm work, and DIY renovations on our regenerative-permaculture homestead near Paeroa / Thames, New Zealand