Family Home in Osoyoos, British Columbia- Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 11 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/04/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! We are a busy family based in Osoyoos, BC, which is a small town in the very south end of British Columbia. We are the wine capital of Canada and are home to over 100 wineries all within about 80 kilometres. Osoyoos is located in Canada’s only desert, and we reach temperatures of up to +40 degrees Celsius during the summer. Osoyoos is home to Lake Osoyoos, Canada’s warmest lake, with great beaches and lots of activities!! The town is booming during the spring and summer with tourists from all over the world coming to enjoy the lake, the wine, and the agriculture. Food, agritourism, and wine are the main draws for people coming to visit!
    My family loves to travel and to meet people from all over the world. Our latest trip took us (along with our 10 year old son) to India to visit family friends and stay in their small village. We currently host a 17 year old
    hockey billet who will be with us until the early spring.
    We are looking to meet people and show off our beautiful area of the world! As a family, we have a couple locally-based businesses that we own and operate, and that keep us very busy, especially in the summertime.
    In exchange for room and board in one of the most beautiful places in the world, we are looking for help in our home ( with cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, laundry, and taking care of our 10 year old son). We want to be interactive and are looking for someone who would like to become a part of our family for the time they are here! We love to sit out by our fire and exchange ideas and conversation about any topic!!
    Our immediate families are all right within 25 kilometres - both sets of parents live on farms out of town, and our siblings also live right in the area.
    My background is in mental health, and my husband has a varied background, from forestry to RCMP (Royal Canadian amounted Police) to parks warden to personal development coach. Our son loves skiing, going to the beach, and our two cats!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a true, down to earth Canadian family. We love life, people, and learning! We are not unique - there are so many awesome families in our community, and we know a lot of them. We feel that we can show other people a true love and appreciation of our country and our community. This little pocket desert of the South Okanagan is truly a stunning part of the world, and we feel that our personalities and attitude of openness and love will welcome anyone into becoming a part of our community.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone to help us in and around our home with daily living chores. This would include preparing meals, grocery shopping, household maintenance (dusting, vacuuming, cleaning), laundry, and of course some child care for our 10 year old (awesome) son.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German (Austrian dialect)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have single family home in Osoyoos, two blocks from the local beach, and can offer a private bedroom in the basement of our home, with access to a bathroom with shower. We would expect the person to share meals at our dining room table upstairs with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is SO much to do in Osoyoos!! Besides the amazing beaches, there are fruit archards and farms galore! There is a lot of great hiking and siteseeing. There is everything from horseback riding to helicopter winery tours! Golf courses, beach volleyball, and local Wednesday wine night at the pub!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 292713197749