Dog walking and home projects help in Dublin, Ireland



Favourited 12 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days


 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    I am renovating my house myself and would love some help with gardening, painting and light DIY. I would also like help walking my lovely large dogs and some household chores . I have lived and worked all over Europe. I am involved in animal rescue, the local community and university life. I have a single placement and am looking for someone who is 35 years old at least. No exceptions.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live close to Dublin airport and Dublin City University, 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre. The house is on a regular bus route and within 40 minutes drive of the coast or the Dublin mountains. It's a built up, working class area so you get a good idea of how ordinary people live in Dublin. The area does have anti-social behaviour and can seem run down in parts. So it's not your typical tourist experience! However we also have lovely parks, good sporting facilities and historical areas close by. You have a great opportunity to explore Dublin, learn a bit more about Irish food and culture and take advantage of the location for English classes or exchanges. I used to be an English Language teacher and I will make an effort to help you to improve your English if you wish.

  • Help


    I welcome your help with dog walking, gardening, light home DIY and maintenance and some decluttering projects. I have 3 large dogs so you'd need to be very good with animals. It can be physical so best if you are happy to get your hands dirty and are fit. A lot of it is outdoors so best to be able to walk and help out in all weathers especially the rain. This is Ireland after all! I'd prefer someone who can drive. If you have painting or carpentry skills even better. I would like someone to help 25 hours a week, 5 days. The days may be on the weekend at times. Bring warm clothes. Please bring outdoor and suitable clothes and boots. You need to have a EU nationality or be a non EU national with a valid work or student visa. I am looking for someone quiet, older and sensible to fit in with my routine and household. The ideal person will be someone who is happy with their own company and can do their own thing. Better if you are used to living in urban environments and be an experienced enough traveller to stay safe and blend in.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Greek, a little German

  • Accommodation


    The house is a modern 3 bed mid terrace house in a housing estate about 4 km from the city centre. My estate is in a very built up part of Dublin and my area is quite run down in parts. We have our share of anti social behaviour and it certainly isn't like any part of Dublin you have seen on postcards! You will have your own small bedroom with use of a shared bathroom and shower. I am happy to buy food for breakfast and lunch and cook dinner 2-3 nights a week. Apart from that you are welcome to use the well equipped kitchen. I'm a vegan but don't mind if you eat meat etc as I feed my dogs raw meat and fish and there is a separate fridge and freezer for animal products. But you need to be very clean and tidy while being okay with dogs sharing the living room area. Its a non smoking household and I live a quiet life. I will be friendly and helpful but I'm not looking for company or long chats over dinner. You will need to make your own fun and get out and about to see Dublin for yourself. If you are looking for dinner parties, socialising at home, late nights and loud music this isn't the Workaway for you. I am a quiet self contained person. Please note that I am providing you with accommodation not your friends.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I like people who like to get out, explore, do things and enjoy themselves. It will be up to you to make the most of your time in Dublin, I can make suggestions, advise or drop you places but you have to get out and about and see and do things yourself. I live on a regular bus route 20 minutes from Dublin city centre. There are sporting facilities and green areas within walking distance. There is a car parking space at my house and having a car really is the best way to make the most of your stay. I have good community connections so can help you get involved in voluntary and cultural activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 291874594579