Help us with looking after our son, land and food garden while experiencing off-grid lifestyle in Orgiva, Spain

  • Favourited 18 times
  • Last activity: 19 Jan 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are an English and Belgian couple with two children (Luca is 8 months and Louie is 2 1/2 years), living off-grid in a straw bale roundhouse on the edge of an unintentional community, called Ciggarones. We have a piece of land in the mountains, where we have several fruit trees and growing our own food garden. We like to live close to nature and be conscious of our consumption - as we live off-grid it’s a necessity. We are both keen permaculturists and enjoy getting out in the garden, Jeremie is an environmental engineer and Alex provides support to mothers, through her work as a doula and yoga teacher.
    We like to make jams, marmalade’s, kombucha, kefir, dehydrate fruits and preserve foods so that they are available to eat all year round.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to share our way of life with workawayers, to show how rewarding and empowering living a basic life can be. To experience living off-grid, and learning to live with what’s available. Eating seasonal foods, collecting drinking water from the local spring, and learning about the offerings nature provides us. Both Jeremie and I enjoy discussing our work and passions and would be happy to spend time on the land together to share what we know. We believe that by living by example, we can start to bring change to the world and we think workaway is a great way to create that ripple effect out into society.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for a workawayer to join our family, to help us with our 2 year old son Louie and to support us with maintaining the land and food garden. Each day the work will vary depending on what is most needed at the time, this will all be agreed together so everyone has their needs met. We also ask that you are involved with meal times and clean up.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a small caravan available with sink and stove. There is also an outdoor (hot water) shower, kitchen and seating area (but you are welcome to use the shower in our house too!) We do live in a wild area, surrounded by nature so it best suits someone comfortable with that way of living or wanting to try something new. We eat mostly vegan/vegetarian seasonal and unprocessed food. What we put in our bodies is then reflected in our health so we like to be conscious of what we eat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on the edge of a community called Ciggarones, made up of interesting folk living in vans, yurts and different structures. With a mixture of travellers, families, birth workers and people wanting to live out of the system. It’s a really interesting place to be apart of. It doesn’t have any public transport but we drive to town on a regular basis.
    Our closest town is Órgiva, which is also a multicultural community with lots of events and interesting people to meet!
    We are an hour from Granada and there is a public bus available from Órgiva. We have some beautiful walks to do from our house, and some quiet spots in the garden to take some timeout.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week and involvement in all meals

Host ref number: 289421931968

Feedback (2)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)