Slow simple life style farm in Omanaia, New Zealand. Come and join us!

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 62 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/08/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everybody, we are live simply for the sake of the planet and our own sanity. That means we can spend time with our children and have a big garden and animals (2 horses, a few goats and cows for making yogurt, butter and cheese) on our piece of land hidden behind the trees in the Hokianga.
    We live 4 hours drive north from Auckland, in a small house made from our own trees and recycled materials.
    We like sharing our simple lifestyle and cooking fresh vegetables from the garden and home killed meat.
    We like playing board games and playing music too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about permaculture, sustainable principles, earth building, cooking with fire, fermented food, cheese making, brewing, gardening and much more....

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening, orchard maintenance, helping with cookigng and dishes, sometimes looking after our daughter, milking, forestry, fencing, Earth building...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfy Caravan for your sleeping quarters. We have hot water from the woodstove which we cook on. Compost toilet. No internet provided but 3G signal through Vodafone. No washing machine. Simple but satisfying.

    For meals we usually prepare together and share the meals together. It's often fresh from the garden and home made.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Few nice places to visit close by : Koutu boulders, swim in the river or in the sea, nice beaches (surfing too), nice walks (waterfall, bush, beach), natural hot pools 30mins drive, huge old Kauri trees.

    Good hitchhiking.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 288372353382