Get to know african culture in my beautiful village while helping me on my organic farm, teaching kids and the construction of a library

Country

Tanzania

updated  

Favourited 268 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    101

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Said, I live in Morogoro Region of Tanzania (east africa).

    I live in a rather small village, located 1h from Morogoro. My passion is to meet different people around the world and to exchange culture. That's why I would like to invite you as a volunteer to stay in my home place with my family. I will teach you the way we live here and you can learn about traditional food, markets, Maasai (we can even visit them if you are interested), how to weave Mkeka (the traditional Tanzanian mat), and so on.
    In exchange you can support me and the local children by improving foreign language skills and computer skills. We would like to improve our English as well as learning other languages such as German, Italian, French, Spanish, Chinese and others.
    Furthermore, my dream is to build a library for the children in the neighbourhood. There they can read simple books and you could teach them easy sentences and words in foreign languages. Your support would mean a lot and you could bring a smile on the children's faces.

    As well as on the part on Agriculture I would like to invite anyone who can be interested to arrive in my home place for learning or to exchange experience knowledge in the agricultural sector you're warmly welcome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There will be a variety of things to learn such as culture, way of simple living, local food, local language, skills with local community in general (such as weaving Mkeka mat, preparing ugali, looking after cows and goats in the field, washing clothes and braiding hair for example. We can teach you some Swahili so that you can interact with the population of my village and say all the necessary greetings which are very important for Swahili people. In my village outskirts live many Maasai tribes. If you like we can visit them, see the way they live, eat together and if you want you can also buy some traditional Maasai jewellery.

    My village is a very nice traditional little town. We can visit the where abouts either by foot or we can rent bicycles to experience the ultimate tanzanian way of life. Nearby cities we can also visit by taking the bus.

    If you like I can help you to organise a trip to Mikumi National Park, Selous Game Reserve and Udzungwa National Park for a very low price.

  • Help

    Help

    We need volunteers who can help me in my home place and volunteers who can support me to improve different languages as well as on my organic farm where I grow maize and rice. Please be aware that planting is in March and harvesting in July. Apart from these times there is not much work to do on the farm but you can visit and give advice if you have experience in this sector.


    For my home library volunteers can bring books or toys for the children. I made the experience that the young children are very passionate to communicate with visitors but language can be a barrier. My wish is to break down that barrier. Even a small book or toy for the youngest can help!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    swahili and english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer food and accommodation to our volunteers. You will be able to feel comfortable in the house and we will have time to relax together and enjoy the interaction with the people in our neighbourhood from which you will get the opportunity to learn our customs and traditions.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You need to get a bus to Morogoro. I will pick you up from there. I ask if you can pay my transport cost.
    In my village there is no bank, the nearest is in Morogoro. The used currency in my village is the tanzanian shilling.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    This host charges a fee

    read more
    $5 day towards food costs

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 285963267943