Come stay at our modern bungalow and create an eco property - Norfolk UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I recently moved to a bungalow and 16 acres in North Norfolk near the amazing beaches of Holkham and Brancaster. We are from London and New Zealand, are both 51 and retired with 4 dogs, 4 horses and a cat.

    The property is a modern bungalow, south facing with gorgeous views over the land and the adjoining common but there is lots to do in terms of setting up the land for the horses. Fencing, earth moving, weed management, painting etc. We bought a tractor recently and we hire in people with diggers and larger tractors for the big jobs.

    We are aiming to create an eco property with rain water collection, solar panels, tree planting etc

    The dogs are Hungarian Vizslas and the horses include 2 Arabs, an American Qtr Horse and an American Paint. We ride on the beaches regularly with the dogs running along. Also we can ride directly off the property onto the common and many bridleways and greenways.

    We moved to Norfolk for the beaches, wildlife (barn owls, kites, hares, seals) and wide open spaces of rolling hills, big skies, marshland and numerous public paths and bridleways such as the Peddars Way and North Norfolk Coastal Path. The beaches equal anything in NZ or Australia. We regularly swim the dogs in the river at Burnham Overy where there is a busy sailing club and we walk to Scolt Head on a low tide. The beaches run for miles - about 8 miles ride from Brancaster to Hunstanton, mostly empty of people.

    The village is on a bus route but a car is very handy in rural Norfolk. Getting here from London would be via the train to Kings Lynn and a pick up from there. Otherwise we can collect from London (City Airport), Stansted or Norwich Airport.

    We have just said goodbye to our first workawayer staying with us from Milan. Chiara was here for the month of August and immediately fitted into the animal family - she was cantering my bay Arab on the beach on her second day with us !

    We have a workawayer from Rome staying in September and then a workawayer from Milan for October. Then we host a Canadian from November to January and a Parisian from January to the end of February ! Our projects will be coming along in leaps and bounds by next spring and the horses will enjoy getting out and about more this winter.

    We expect to continue hosting through 2020 so please get in touch if you are interested.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will enjoy a relaxed environment with friendly well cared for animals and a natural whole health approach to human and animal wellbeing. My husband is a great cook and a good mechanic and handyman. I'm into natural healing and natural horsemanship. The horses are barefoot, 2 ridden western and 2 in endurance saddles. The dogs are fed a raw diet of chicken carcasses, dog bones, offal etc.
    North Norfolk suits our love of nature, beaches and warm weather. The sea has great healing properties for all the animals and for us too.
    Travellers have the opportunity to learn about nature, natural healing, horses and dog training and care, mechanics, building, land management and lots more.
    With our first workawayer in August 2019, we rode together most days on the local trails or on the beach. We spent plenty of time on teaching / learning English throughout the day. We discussed horses and horse riding because Chiara is a confident novice, still learning. Over dinner we discussed many subjects such as food and life in Italy compared to life in England. We had a visit from my animal osteopath for one of the dogs and the horses. Other activities included beach walks, swimming, visiting the vet and butcher etc, days out to Lincolnshire and to Sovereign Quarter Horses in Cambridgeshire. We do have bicycles that a workawayer can borrow.
    Workawayers should bring waterproof shoes or boots for working outside, relaxed outdoor clothing, swim wear, warm clothing and rain coat, work gloves and horse riding clothing (helmet, boots, chaps, jodphurs, gloves).

  • Help

    Help

    After having a friend's daughter help out for a few weeks, we realised the extra helping hands were valuable ! We advertised for our first Workawayer and found Chiara from Milan to help throughout August. The animals are our top priority and tasks include feeding, pooh picking, turning out horses, riding and exercising (ONLY riding if you are a competent rider). Also dog walking, pet sitting, house cleaning, handyman and DIY tasks such as fencing, painting poles (for Western training), weeding, etc.

    Our location suits people who love the outdoors and have experience with horses and dogs. We backpacked the world for a few years in our 20's and 30's so we enjoy meeting people from all over the world. With all the animals we now stay at home and enjoy having people to stay with us.

    We would like help for 25 hrs a week per person for a minimum of 1 month on a flexible basis as the daily schedule changes but it's mainly Mon to Fri and the odd weekend day eg if we take the horses to a Western clinic.

    Chiara took charge of the full horse care routine in the mornings and evenings, which takes about 2 hours. Driving a car is an advantage as we use a car to drive up and down to the paddocks with water.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have enjoyed hosting an individual workawayer and have a double bedroom with ensuite for the workawayer's own use (no sharing required).
    We will provide most meals. Sometimes we just snack on humous and veg or have a tuna or burger salad but most days we have a hot meal of baked fish or fish and rice, chicken curry, lamb roast, spaghetti bolognese etc.
    Breakfast is either home made muesli, or a fry up of bacon, eggs, sausages etc (an English breakfast).
    We would be very happy for a workaway to cook a few of their favourite meals !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Things to Do:
    There are buses to Wells (seaside village), Fakenham (market town) and Burnham Market.
    A car is a great help but a bicycle is a joy to ride - there are many cycling events held here.
    The beaches (swimming, running, paddle boarding, kite surfing) and marshes are the big attraction plus there are lots of restaurants and cafes in Burnham Market and Wells.
    There are lots of bridleways and public footpaths in our village, immediately off our property.

    Us:
    Apart from the animals, there are only the 2 of us, no kids. We enjoy the company of people with a 'can do' attitude and varied life experiences. We are constantly on the go and rarely sit down. We have good wifi and technology but never watch TV as we are too busy doing stuff outdoors in the summer. In winter we enjoy watching a few series on Amazon Prime with the wood burner going and 4 dogs on the rugs and sofas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs a week flexible timing


Host ref number: 281245189136