Come and work with me at my Farmhouse in the mountains in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 343 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone
    I am now into the second year of an exciting project in the mountains in Tuscany. I have taken on an extremely neglected and rundown farmhouse and surrounding land. I need genuinely enthusiastic people to come and work with me towards a wish to become ‘self-sufficient-ish’ here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have your time off/free time to explore enjoy the surrounding area and improve Italian and English. This is a rural area there is only a bar in the village so you may wish to venture further away on your days off. Or head to the river just down the road.
    I am English and can help you with the English language and culture and I am able to tell you of my experiences in life and here in Italy.
    While I share my experiences and knowledge I do hope to be able to learn from you too.
    Best
    Joanne

  • Help

    Help

    What used to be a beautiful farm has been badly neglected and rundown for over 30 years. As a result most everything needs attention.
    Most of the jobs, tasks and daily chores anyone with enough enthusiasm can do. Although you don’t need to be a proffessional experience is an advantage. It can be hard and sometimes dirty work as some of the buildings haven’t been cleaned for many, many years. Although I have cleared the very worst of it, there still always seems to be more to do.
    The chicken pens/coops/ roosts have had some maintenance as I am expanding the flock this year. In fact I have some fledgling chicks! Some experience to include fuel and basic maintenance with a strimmer/weed-eater is very welcome as there is some woodland to be cleared.

    As you may imagine the work is seasonal and varied. It really depends on which month you will be here but with lengthy list there is literally always something needs to be done.
    Some decorating/painting within the house, fruit trees to prune, a vegetable patch plus herb garden to be weeded maintained and expanded. Stone walls to be repointed, several streams to be cleared, brambles cut back, grass cut, strimming, Lavender plants and fruit bushes to be planted.
    In the next couple of weeks we will be picking apples and pears. For winter storage and also for cooking and freezing.

    I have goats, a horse, chickens, roosters,chicks and couple of young cats who all enjoy my attention and are very much part of my family.

    Having people working here with me allows more time to be spent with the animals. Of course you can help me with them should you wish and have at least some experience.
    It’s better to stay at least a week if you hope to learn something new as well as exploring this beautiful region.

    Days off are always Saturday and Sunday to ensure I get some downtime too.

    My hope is that you will work at something you enjoy doing while you stay here. It will be easier for us both if you have at some previous experience as unfortunately I don’t have adequate time to teach people who have never spent time outdoors. It may, in fact probably will be hard, physical work at times you mostly likely will get aches and a few bruises - but it is also fun and is in a beautiful place in the World.

    Please do ensure you bring appropriate clothing. For example Winter clothing in Winter to keep you warm and Summer clothes for Summer. Strong footwear to protect your feet. I will provide you with gloves to protect your hands.
    My farm is in the mountains and weather is naturally changeable.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in my home.
    We will share them but there are two bathrooms. One with a bath the other a shower.
    I naturally expect that household chores are done by everyone as a simple courtesy and not as part of your work hours. This includes sweeping and mopping floors, emptying the rubbish bins, cleaning the bathroom after yourself, washing dishes and putting dry things away. Probably I forgot something...

    I regret I am unable to accept your pets.

    On workdays I will provide you with 3 meals a day. I am vegetarian with a leaning toward vegan so this means that meat and fish are not available from me. You are of course very welcome to do your own BBQ in the yard.
    There is a fabulous pizza/bread oven that I hope to make excellent use of during this Summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Have a look online and see all about The Garfagnana Tuscany.
    It’s a fabulous region for being outdoors. I can arrange for you to go horse riding (not my mare) and tell you all about the area.
    Transport is easily reached as a bus stop is a few metres away and the train station just a 2 km away. So 30-40 min walk. Cinque Terre, Pisa, Lucca and Florence are all easily accessible from here by train. It is rural here as the farm is situated on the outskirts of a tiny village where there is only a bar and a post office - no shops at all.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5hrs per day 5 days a week

Geri
Side view of house
Gracie loves plums
View from your bedroom window
One of the bedrooms
My helpers
Terraces are being planted with lavender
There are trees to be felled and logs cut. Only for those experienced with a chainsaw.
Currently expanding my flock with eggs in an incubator- chicks arrive soon

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.4)

Communication: (4.8)

















Host ref number: 274837259237