Volunteer at our family historic home and garden with forest and fishery in Ireland

  • Favourited 1342 times
  • Last activity: 15 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    A family-run historic house and estate with a forestry farm and fishery. Our house is a historic building on the banks of the beautiful river Boyne overlooking the megalithic sites of Newgrange and Knowth which are world heritage sites 40 mins from Dublin and in the heart of a beautiful landscape, we have mature trees and a garden that needs a lot of help with,I say, family run but its actually just me and my amazing partner. We also have some very friendly pets a cat lots of hens and some geese, peacocks ducks, and 2 donkeys
    Unless you have lived in an old house, you can't imagine the maintenance involved in keeping it all going; we had some really lovely volunteers last summer, we have had barbecues and picnics on the river, and we have learned from each other different dishes, and have had many a good evening.
    I think it is great to interact with people from other backgrounds and cultures,I have traveled a lot and have lived for many years in East Africa and India, My daughter and her young family live very nearby, and there are another two young families who live on the estate,
    We need willing, able volunteers to help in the forestry; some strength is required as we'll need helpers to move logs etc

    We provide you with your own accommodation in a very clean and comfortable mobile home with a kitchen so when we are not having a BBQ or doing Pizza s in the forest you can cook for yourselves. We will go to Lidl or Aldi once a week with you and pay for your shopping.
    look forward to hearing from you!
    PS A minimum of 3 weeks stays only, please
    Please be sure you can come and do not cancel once accepted.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a lot you can learn about vegetable growing and gardening .We are right beside some very important historical sites which you can visit ,we have bicycles for you to use in the evenings and on days off .
    We like to take our workawayers on a hike in the mountains at least once or a trip to the beach or a trip to Tara (ancient seat of the High Kings of Ireland )
    You can swim in the river (for the hardy types) canoe on the river Boyne or spend an evening fishing and get lucky and catch a trout .

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    we need help in our small wood,carrying logs and felling dead trees some physical strength would be an advantage

    Our plan is to restore our section of the river for flyfishing for the conservation of Salmon and trout
    This river project is for summer months as the river is too high during the winter to help there
    There will also be help around the farm clearing areas ,and painting stable doors

    House maintenance ,painting ,carpentry ,outdoor tasks and gardening ,cleaning
    Carpenters ,
    Mechanics
    Cleaners
    gardeners
    all welcome


    Help is 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week ,
    weekends are free.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    New Mobile home next to main house ,with cooking facilities ,shower ect
    3 bedrooms ,

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to see in this historic area of Ireland ,we overlook the megalithic tombs called Newgrange ,we live just on the banks of the river Boyne ,There is plenty to do here,fishing,walking,swimming if you dont mind the cold river ,cycling ,visiting the ancient sites of the Boyne valley ,
    We have an outdoor pizza oven and a barbecue area so in the summer we have lovely evenings together chatting ,exchanging ideas ect.
    There are local pubs with traditional music iwhich is only 40 mins away n the nearby village ,and there are regular busses to
    Dublin city which is 40 minutes away

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day (max 25hours/week)

Host ref number: 271321824163

Feedback (28)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)
































Enjoy the Irish seaside and help with light gardening and household in Ahakista, West-Cork, Ireland
Help with childminding, and daily family life in the bustling town of Ennistymon, Clare, Ireland