English campsite owners looking for help with their house, garden and animals in Poitou-Charentes region of France

Country

France

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family of four, Henry & Katherine and our two young children. We run a small family-friendly campsite in the beautiful and sunny Poitou-Charentes region of France.The site is set in 17 acres of oak woodland, so perfect for natures lovers, especially bird lovers. Our local village is less than 1km away where there's a boulangerie, spar shop/post office/tabac, hairdressers, take away and bar/restaurant. The historic city of Poitiers is about 30km away where there is plenty to see and do.

    The campsite is open April to September and we welcome guests who are camping and caravanning as well as in our glamping accommodation.

    We have 3 dogs, 2 goats and chickens.

    In the summer months, life is hectic trying to juggle looking after the campsite and guests, plus our children, animals and house. We are so busy running the site that the house and garden get ignored so we are looking for help looking after our house, cooking, gardening and walking our dogs.

    The rest of the year, we have many projects on the go that we would love help with in the garden and the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be able to practise English and French. During the summer, we also have a lot of other nationalities visiting the site to chat to so it's a great social environment.
    You will be able to gain an insight into the tourism industry and the day to day running of a business.
    We are in a very rural area and there are plenty of opportunities for cycling and walking. You will be able to borrow our bicycles.
    There are a lot of historical sites to visit in the area, for example the medieval city of Poitiers and town of Parthenay. In mid July there is a fantastic 2 week games festival in Parthenay.

  • Help

    Help

    This spring we will need help painting the house (that we have been meaning to do since we moved here in 2016!). We would also like to create a vegetable patch and a new area for our chickens.

    There are all sorts of tasks to help with in the summer months when the campsite is open, so it's essential that you are flexible. We need help walking our dogs, feeding the chickens and goats, household chores including laundry and cooking plus gardening. Life on the campsite in the high season is hectic and and you never know what the next day will bring! It's great fun and very sociable but everyone does need to be flexible.

    Hours can be flexible but based on 5 hours a day for 5 days a week. We prefer you to stay for a minimum of a week with the possibility of staying longer if you would like to. We need volunteers who are clean and tidy, friendly and outgoing, trustworthy and independent.

    Ideally this would suit a couple.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in either a mobile home or a caravan. For the caravan, the bathroom/washing facilities will be in the campsite toilet block. You will have free wifi and use of the campsite facilities: laundry, swimming pool, mini golf, boules pitch, games room.
    We will provide food for you to make your own breakfast. We will provide lunch and dinner but in the summer we would like help with cooking dinner, as it is often the busiest time for us on the campsite.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transport (bus) from the village to Poitiers.
    On arrival, we're happy to pick you up from Poitiers train station or airport.
    Lots of walking and cycling direct from the campsite.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 269576861246