Inspiring, open helpers welcome to help grow a creative permaculture garden in Somerset, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 258 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 40 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! I am a textile designer/artist/writer living between Somerset and Bali. I have an old rambling house and gardens in the centre of Somerset and am working on building a permaculture-inspired, no dig veg garden, plus other eco-builds in the grounds. I am aiming to create a creative retreat for my family and friends, but need help building it into my dream! This is a personal, non-profit project with plenty of scope for cultural exchange and skills sharing. I love everything wild - nature, food, growing, creativity, culture, community, art, music, film and conversation, and am looking forward to meeting new people from around the world and helping create a mutual experience of shared skills and inspiration. Thank you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The house is quite remote but also close to the main towns such as Frome, Bruton, Glastonbury and Wells, with lots of wonderful walks, woodland, rivers, art and community. I can offer an inspiring place to help build something from the ground up - mainly the growing garden inspired by permaculture principles, which has gone from a bare paddock into a vegetable garden with 16 beds, a greenhouse, sun deck and timber yurt. Help us to grow the space into something magical!

    We will be working together to inspire, create, learn, and benefit from shared experience and knowledge. I also hope to be hosting monthly events and salons for friends with music, art, poetry, spirituality and food as focal points, where volunteers will be helping and sharing and learning. I would love to benefit together and as much from the volunteers as they might benefit from me! All events are non-profit and volunteers are welcome to join in.

  • Help

    Help

    Initially I am looking for help with the permaculture garden/allotment, prepping and planning, planting and building.. Also help around the house with general tasks and woodworking, gardening and maintenance. It's a large house and gardens and there is a lot of scope for creativity and innovation - I am looking for people to take initiative and work well with communal projects and also being on your own/self-discipline. There is a lot of opportunity to bring your own ideas and build with me!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will either have your own lovely light attic room with twin beds, and use of a shared bathroom, or, if I have friends staying in this room, you will be camping in a Bell Tent or your own tent in the grounds, with access to a shower and toilet inside the house. The former bathroom, if you are in the attic room, will mostly be your own but if I have family or friends to stay you will share.

    It's a big old house with plenty to do surrounding the location - lovely and quiet with plenty of nature! There are lots of nooks and places to read, slumber, hideaway and retreat. And lots of places to be inspired and help create this dream eco-creative haven!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to do in the area, it's an area of outstanding natural beauty, plus many wonderful towns such as Bruton, Frome, Glastonbury and Wells. We are also not too far from Dartmoor National Park, Devon and Cornwall approximately 2 hours away and London is 2-3 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I am happy for volunteers to work online in our house in their spare time and have wifi but it is not the fastest in the world! But it works fine. Thank you!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I would be very happy to host camper vans. We have a small fridge-freezer and camping stove in a workshop, with worktop space and storage space for food. Thank you!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I'm happy to accept certain pets but please note we have a cat, although he is quite relaxed about furry guests! No big dogs, though.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 268612212317