Sail with our family on our sailing boat, help with everyday life tasks in Greece

  • Greece
  • Favourited 240 times
  • Last activity: 31/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a traveling family with three kids: two lively boys 10 and 6, a sweet baby girl and two adults. We, Madeleine and Arne are both not yet 40 and probably nice people. We are living on our sailboat and travel full time since 2019. As you might guess, we like to be outside and experience new stuff from time to time. We appreciate a resource-reduced and more simple life. We speak German, Englisch and very limited French.

    Currently we are in the very south of Croatia and move further southwards. Over winter, we will probably stay in Greece.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to know boat life and generally being on and in the water a lot. You will meet nice people (including us :), and see the country. If you want you can learn sailing, technical aspects of a sailing boat, maybe some German language.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for nice and reliable people who want to join us for a while, having fun sailing and living a free and usually quite enjoyable life aboard. We expect nothing special from our guests but rather want you to share both the fun as well the more demanding parts of our everyday life.

    So, tasks may be almost everything. But especially while sailing it might be important to help with whatever is necessary at the moment. Playing with the kids, finding something to eat, helping to set sails, watching for other boats or obstacles, steering if you want. As we are a bit limited with the baby currently, to be three adults is also a chance to take longer trips, even overnight. Then a night watch would be a task.

    Over winter 2022/23 (December to January/February) things will be a bit different, as we plan to stay in one place in Greece and work on the boat. There are many things to do. Electrics, wood working, painting, mechanical stuff … Help with some projects would be nice. But: During this time, space will be even more limited, the weather not always nice and we can't give very much in exchange besides our company and the working experience, as we won't sail a lot – if at all.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in English, Spanish and French. Our 10 year old currently learns Spanish, both boys learn English. We speak mother-tongue German and more or less fluent English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Naturally there is not a lot of space and comfort on our sailing boat. Of course you will have your very own bed, but don't expect too much privacy and comfort. We need to share the rest of the boat. There is a big table area with sofas and it's quite nice to be outside.

    We have a fridge, stove, toilet, drinking water, an outdoor shower, electricity and most of the time internet.
    We do not have running hot water (you may use the stove). Basically every resource is limited (water, electricity, heat, internet) and has to be used accordingly.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will take part in our everyday life and in that there is no fixed schedule.

    We try to have some productive hours in the morning where the kids learn and Arne is working (computer work). Besides that, our surrounding will make most of the plan. Maybe we are in a nice place where we can hike or see some landmarks, maybe the weather calls for swimming and snorkeling. Maybe we need to stock up because there is a good opportunity. Maybe something needs to get repaired or built. Usually we anchor and use our dinghy to go to shore.

    One more thing: we live vegan and would appreciate you to take that into account. If you manage to eat vegetarian while you are aboard (do whatever you like when on land), we are happy. And of course we'd like to share all of our meals with you. The need to include animal products would make that a bit complicated.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you want or need to work with internet, you may. We have limited LTE traffic though. Maybe bring your own SIM card.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No fixed times, just help with daily tasks, we share them. And enjoy life!

Host ref number: 268161126987

Photos

Feedback

Help me for my house Enjoy the beach and wild village in Mani, Greece
Looking for a friendly person to join us in Rodos, Greece