Help us promote a Rural Tourism Project in Tome, Tohoku region, Japan

Country

Japan

Favourited 472 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/04/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Sachi. I was born and grew up in Tokyo. I spent 7 years in Kyoto as a student.
    And I came in Tome, and have been fascinated by what the rural life of this area of Japan can offer me.
    I like traditional cultures and the nature. And also I like to share our cultures with people of different cultures.
    I am 37 years old , happily married and mother of 3 year-old girl.

    We have just started a rural-tourism project in Tome, Tohoku region, offering a vacation rental. This project offers travelers various experiences in rural life. We would like to immerse travelers into rural traditional cultures which remain in this part of the country. Our project has been realized thanks to many workawayers from all over the world. Our main problem currently is we don't have an effective way to reach the possible foreign customers as here is far from the main tourist spots and known by anybody; we believe this is one of the most attractive points for some foreign travelers.

    My English is rusty. Good English speakers are very much appreciated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience and observe the rural culture of Tohoku, which could be the most traditional Japan.
    The houses nearby are somewhat akin to the life which many of Japanese people experienced 100 (or more ) years ago. The local people are still practicing this way of living, though most of them are driving a car (indispensable where there are no shops in the walking distance)

    During the free time, you can explore the neighborhood on foot, by bicycles, by community taxi and bus. We have various sizes of bicycles with high spec.

    My parents are now helping me.
    My mother, Yumiko is fluent in French and English. She will be happy to explain Japanese traditional culture in general but not Japanese Pop cultures such as animation, manga etc. My father, Shin, knows a lot about Japanese life but unfortunately he does not speak English. (his wife could help)

  • Help

    Help

    The helps we need are followings;

    1) Web promotion
    You will stay in our vacation rental (a traditional Japanese country house). We would like to ask you to share your experience here on your and our SNS, blog etc. Give us advise how to attract customers.
    Your work includes;
    - taking photos and videos
    - editing them
    - uploading on your or/and our accounts
    - writing comments and reviews
    Those who are regularly active on SNS with many followers would be highly appreciated.
    Depending on the season you stay, we might organize some mock touristic activities and ask you to experience them.
    We would be happy, if you don’t mind being included in the photos or videos.

    2) Field work
    Working on our small vegetable field and garden
    Those who have experience of using a grass trimmer would be highly appreciated.

    3) Cleaning
    House and garden

    4) Cooking for workawayers and occasionally for local friends


    Depending on your skills and preference, each of workawers might have a different work role. Please write precisely what you can and want to do, when you will apply. If you have active SNS account or blog, please let us know.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in Futon in a tatami room, in a Japanese traditional house.
    Host family does not live in the house and you will have to prepare your most of your own meals with the material provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We might not be able to decide whether or not we will host workawayers until the last minute. Sorry for inconvenience.

    Our place is located in a rural area. There is not direct (or easy) public transportation to this area.
    We will pick you up at the station or at a bus stop and you will be at our place after one hour drive.

    1) by Shinkansen
    From Tokyo Station to "Kurikoma Kogen" of Tohoku Shinkansen Line ; 2.5 hours (Direct). Fast and easiest option.
    Ideal for JR EAST PASS (Tohoku Area) holder.
    URL:

    2) Cheaper solution : Highway bus transportation from Shinjuku Highway Bus Terminal in Tokyo to Sendai (6 hours) where you can take another Highway bus (1.5 h)
    There are highway bus services from major cities to Sendai, from where you can take another highway bus to Tome Shiyakusho, where we can pick you up.

    URL:



    Smoking is not allowed in the house.
    In case you possess drugs illegal in Japan, please stay away from our peaceful village.

    We ask you to give us the followings for just in case. (For the sake of your safety)
    1) a copy of passport
    2) a copy of travel insurance policy
    3) e-mail address of contact person in case of emergency

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Parade of Samurai (Daimyou Gyoretsu)
rice field in Autumn








Host ref number: 267675765465